"Azit" - 16"x12" oil on panel - Showing stages of the painting in progress

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The first photo is the finished painting. I've known this dog since she was a pup and I play ball with her several times/week when visiting her owners. The painting was painted on Gessobord panel and with pure paint (no medium). Sometimes I tone the canvas/panel just to get rid of the stark white surface, but this time I didn't. Photos of my work in progress are below.

Azit 16x12p-cr.jpg

The first stage: I drew a few lines with a pencil just to get an idea of where I wanted the subject on the panel, then I switched over to drawing with a brush just to get the general placement of eyes/nose etc.

Azit WIP 1.JPG

Next Stage: Sometimes I paint the background last, but this time I painted it first as I wanted to get a good feel for how the painting would look with the same color family as the subject matter.

Azit WIP 2.JPG

Next Stage: I continued blocking in the main color areas, trying to get the proper values.

Azit WIP 3.JPG

Next Stage: I'm correcting some values and painting a bit more detail.

Azit WIP 5.JPG
Thanks for reading. -Bob

My Website

Sort:  

The grief suffered after a pet dog dies can be the same as that experienced after the death of a person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17