You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are Yulem Objects?

in #art7 years ago

Thank You @yulem I have seen many such objects in my years, and recognised and appreciated that inhereant art personality within them but have never even considered that there was a collective noun description for what I just considered to be a phenomena.
Thank you for sharing that. By adding to my vocabulary, you also expand my universe. Again, Thank you.
I realise that by definition, an object, may not include a landscape, but what do you feel about that yulem? The reason that I ask is that I am quite a fan of Gaia's Art. It can be found in a small pebble, or can even be a mountain in its entirety.
For this reason, I have linked 3 photos from my collection at The Dimensional Gate in Puno, Peru.
I would love it if you had the time to look at, and share your perspective on the shared qualities of yulems and landscapes :)
Although The Gateway itself is believed to be man made, the items I will be drawing your attention to are believed to be natural formations.
In This picture we can see a figure laying on their back.
Just a little further to the right, and up the incline, another figure lays in the same position, only this one is in a much further state of erosion.
Then, if you were to turn 180, a short 5 min walk brings you to this buddha Here's a closeup in case you don't see it straight up.

To see wonder in life, you must be willing to to See the unexpected :)

Sort:  

By definition a yulem object is an object formed by natural processes which possesses a set of intrinsic aesthetic characteristics that transform it into an object of unique interest.
Many things are formed naturally and satisfy that part of the definition. The more interesting part of the definition is "... transform it into an object of unique interest".
This is typically a result of consensus, but not always. Like any art object, some folks love it others hate it. The fun part is the discussion an object can generate.
Concerning large, natural formations, they could be considered a yulem object but often fall into other categories. Because we humans tend to anthropomorphize so readily merely human-like objects often fall short of the last part of the definition. Photography is a great tool for capturing and sharing the aesthetics of such larger objects but then the aesthetics of photography also come into play. Often an object or artifact is more "valuable" for what it is than whether or not it might be a yulem object. It's hard for me to tell from the photos but is the Buddha natural or man-made? Either way it's a neat object. Did you discover it?

The crucial point is learning to see what's right in front (or behind) us; to step outside popular notions and trends.

Thanks for taking the time to acknowledge, and reply to my comment. I resonate well with your perspective. I now better understand your explanation in so far as requiring uniqueness of interest. Thank you.
I was fortunate enough to be travelling on this occasion with a Shaman who was very familiar with this area and it was he who showed me the Buddha.

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97