Hi im an artist in Seattle

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My name's Brian. I was born in Houston but hated it there so I went to college in california but i hated my school so i went back home after 2 years and started working in IT but i hated doing that so i sold everything i owned (not much), bought a van, converted it for camping and started driving around.

I started drawing really young but didn't start painting until i was 18. One night at college i decided i didn't want to get wasted and puke all night so i stayed home and painted. I've never taken a painting class, just taught myself based on studying other people's work. Here are some paintings progressing from my very first one to one of my latest. I hope you find them interesting!

Tower of Babel (2001)

Tower of Babel original.jpg

Drawing it was based on:

tower of babble sketch.jpg

Window into the Mind of God (2003):
Window into the Mind of God.jpg

Sketch:

eye in the sky.jpg

Home Away from Home (2005):

I sit alone and dream as the city never sleeps,
While her unwanted friend the serpent strikes a pose to show its teeth.
As the moon in her sky crumbles from the love she's never shown,
I sit alone and dream in my home away from home.

Home away from home.jpg

Sketch its based on:
island in the sky touched up.jpg

Then i stopped sketching and just started painting straight away:

The Other Side of Guilt (2007):

The Other Side of Guilt.jpg

Bridge to Neverland (2008)

Bridge to Neverland.jpg

There Must be Some Way Out (2010):

There must be some way out.jpg

Lilies of the Field (2015):

Lilies of the Field outdoor light.jpg

The Redeemer (2017):

The Redeemer.jpg

These are just a few of my paintings. You can see more at www.brianart.com.

I like to tell stories with my art and I would say they definitely have a strong mystical theme. I believe reality is far more interesting than we give it credit for. As evidence of this I would say to you that there must be an origin story of reality. We can argue about what the origin story is, but we cannot argue that there must be one because everything that obeys the laws of reality must have a beginning and end. If I asked you to make me a cup, you would not be able to produce it from nothingness - it would have to be made, there is a process.

So whatever the origin story of our reality is, ANY OF THE POSSIBLE EXPLANATIONS would be EQUALLY amazing. Ordered reality arose from complete random chaos, a chaos which has always existed and will always exist - AMAZING!!! Aliens seeded the planet and created humans from apes? INCREDIBLE!! We live inside the mind of a being that we have all sorts of names for but nevertheless is an emotional yet all powerful entity? I mean... what the hell, that would be bizarre, unbelievable and amazing all at once.

My point is - nothing is boring!!!

Sort:  

Hi welcome to steemit @bnunes I like your art and story behind it. I also just move to the seattle region and hope to meet some steemians here.

Hey there , how are you doing, it is great to have you here , I hope you have a great time here as you contribute to the community,I hope you have a great time here and I would be looking forward to reading more of your post , would be here to support you. Interesting post by the way , I once was a young artist, pretty nice work you got there , looking forward to seeing more of them
Im @janrotas feel free to check out my page ,i am sure you would find something that interest you , do follow also , looking forward to being good friends . Do have a great time
Cheers !

Welcome to Steem @bnunes I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Incredible artwork man, I'm such a fan of surrealism art. Looking forward to seeing more artwork you post up. Peace & Blessings <3

Good post, very well written. Thanks for sharing :) Keep on Steeming.

How are you? Bnunes, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to steemit, you definitely have some interesting pieces:)

Thank you ;)

Welcome to Steemit ! "**nothing is boring!!!"

New to the Steemit community myself and just clicking around found your intro. Your work is wonderful! Looking forward to seeing more!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52