My thoughts on the current art sharing platforms

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I'm still looking for the ideal place to share my art online. Instagram seems okay but I don't think it was designed as a pure art sharing platform, and it shows. Some features really don't lend themselves to the format. Having said that, some amazing artists have launched their careers off the back of it.

DeviantArt was the first art sharing platform I used. That was almost a decade ago, and at the time it was a great community to be a part of. I rejoined DeviantArt recently and it's not the same place it was back then. I don't want to sound snobby, but it seems that low-quality Manga has taken over.

This brings me to ArtStation - the latest art sharing platform that I've explored. This place has probably the best digital artists and artwork in the industry today, which makes it quite an intimidating place for non-pros. Artstation seems primarily a place for professional, or aspiring professional artists to showcase their work to people within the industry. Maybe not so much for the hobbyist, like myself.

I'd love Steemit to be the platform which works for me. It has so much potential. I'm currently looking at Steepshot, an app built on the Steem blockchain (I believe) which is, as far as I can tell, very similar to instagram, but as it stands, I'm having problems with it. It seems quite buggy and I can't even log in.

If you have any thoughts or experience in this area you'd like to share, please do so in the comments below. I'd love to hear it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34