A DilemasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I was never going to write a post like this, because everything was supposed to be perfect, but as an artist I should know better, nothing is ever perfect, and it's actually the mistakes, the drips, the wayward brushstrokes that give art life and remove it from the sanitised digital perfection we see so much of these days.

When we collectively post on steemit we are writing history, every movement carved in (digital) stone and left for future generations to stumble upon. I didn't approach steemit in this way when I began, with my personal account I jumped in two feet first, and as with life, I learned as I went along, mostly from my mistakes. As I got to know the platform and think deeper about it's meaning I realised the game is being played in many ways that mirror the society we live in, some good some bad.

I also thought about future generations being able to tap into this anthropological resource and what they would make of this unique insight into the collective mind of steemians.

With this in mind I set about writing blockface, trying to capture a daily record of the crypto world in cartoon form, my way of expressing myself and leaving something in the steemit blockchain that maybe interesting for future generations.

A couple of weeks ago in my eagerness to promote a good friend who is new to steemit I resteemed one of her posts from this account instead of my personal one. I was actually devastated when I realised I couldn't undo this action and my piece of history was tainted with this wayward brush stoke.

I've spent some time wondering what the right solution to this is, I haven't posted a new episode and I even considered giving up the project altogether. Instead I have thought of a more positive approach and of course the first and most important part of that was acceptance. I cannot undo what has been done and I cannot regret what was essentially an act of kindness.

The next thing was to learn and make things better, so I've looked at the criticisms from the first few episode and I'm going to go back to the beginning, tweak the artwork and stories slightly and format everything in a new way and post all the episodes again, that way I can paint over the serendipitous moment of a few weeks ago and make the overall picture benefit from it.

Hopefully this will be the last you hear from me... here's a picture of me and my dog :)

208293_10150219191026228_1906444_n.jpg

Sort:  

Looking forward to the evolution...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by toonpunk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65