Bought Some New Comic Art...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/blewitt-bought-some-new-comic-art-jzjnkgl7-1545010109323.png

I’ve been a fan of artist Frank Teran’s work for quite some time. I first noticed his art when I was a teenager on the cover of Punisher #94 and have loved his gritty stuff since. I’ll do a spotlight on his stuff soon but today I’m here to show off a page I got recently from him.

It’s from Marvel’s What If? #87. This comic came out in July of 1996. I remember buying this when it came out and now I own a piece of original art from it. Pretty badass!!!

15DBAC2F-78A1-4E84-964E-93F01B541045.jpeg

I bought page 7 from this issue which features Sabretooth pinning down Beast who is in some high tech yellow suit. In the background bottom left you can see a figure entering and that’s Jubilee. Below is the final colored version that made it to the comic.

F793F166-7C3A-4FA2-B77F-1767B219FF3E.jpeg

Here is the original that I bought directly from Frank. Next year my goal is to get a bunch of pieces framed. I have some other cool pieces of original art that will looks killer on display in a nice matted frame.

171E3D7E-87D1-4362-926C-08F2C121C4E9.jpeg

I’ll be sure to post as I get new pieces or get them all dolled up in frames. I’m slowly paying off a complete 10 page story from the new Amazing Spider-Man #1 by Humberto Ramos. It not only features my favorite Spidey villain Mysterio, but a brand new baddie that I can’t reveal the name of!!! Super pumped to get those. I should have those paid off in a few months. I was only going to get a page or two when they went live but having the opportunity to buy all 10 pages of the story while featuring a brand new villain in a sweet spread...I couldn’t pass that up.

Till next time folks!

Blewitt

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Beautiful, great buy! Really striking piece.

Yeah I was super stoked to get it. I wish he still had the cover to Punisher #102

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is pretty sweet! Original art yep very badass!👌

Thanks Bill! Yeah I got into this game late. Missed a ton of opportunities. Oh well, I’m here now!

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am a warrior.

Posted using Partiko iOS

howdy again sir blewitt! That art is really super detailed and interesting! Looks like a good investment too.

Yeah some comic art can go for insane amounts of cash! I wish I would have got involved earlier.

very true sir blewitt but since it's always being produced the investment opportunities are never ending right?

Yeah but certain artists command more of a premium. Thousands...

If I would have jumped in even say 10 years ago, I could have bought a house with what I would have snagged.

Posted using Partiko iOS

But you don't know which artists are going to take off and become popular do you? And the ones that are already established cost alot of money so the return might not be as good.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like!!! I just delegated 50SP. Plan on doing this again before the end of the year to make it an even 100SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76