The Rooted / Les Enracinés - WIP part 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

EN

Hello!
For a little while now I've been trying to enhance this small format drawing, initiated in a previous post. I used it for coloring experimentations, based on watercolours and acrylic paint and varnish layers.
FR
Bonjour ! Voilà un petit moment que j'essaie de mettre en valeur ce petit format, initié dans un précédent post. Je l'ai utilisé quelques expérimentations de mise en couleur, à base d'aquarelles de peinture acrylique, et de couches de vernis.

EN
But the poor dude still seems too lonely to me, which is ironic since I created it to keep company with one of his fellow creatures, who has since abandoned him. I therefore set out to create a companion of misfortune for him, with the idea of bringing them together in the same frame, which would itself be enriched with a textured background.
FR
Mais la pauvre créature me semble toujours trop seule, ce qui est ironique puisque je l'avais créée pour tenir compagnie à un de ses semblables, qui l'a depuis abandonné. J'entreprends donc de lui créer à son tour un compagnon d'infortune, avec dans l'idée de les réunir dans un même cadre qui serait lui-même enrichi d'un fond texturé.
  Start of the Work / Début du travail :
EN
Below, the latest evolutions with a first overview of the background in which I will embed them. The frame is made of foamboard, "carefully" mistreated, damaged and painted. Big color difference between the two versions, the photos were taken at different times of the day.
FR
Ci-dessous, les dernières évolutions avec un premier aperçu du fond de cadre dans lequel je vais les incruster. Le cadre est en carton-mousse, "soigneusement" maltraité, abîmé et peint. Gros écart de teinte entre les deux version, les photos aant été prises à différents moment de la journée.  


EN
I'll stil work on the drawing this coming week then I'll apply the same color treatment than his friend's. In the meantime I'll think a of a way to frame this :)
FR
Je travaillerai encore sur le dessin la semaine prochaine, puis j'appliquerai le même traitement de couleur que son ami. En attendant, je vais trouver un moyen d'encadrer ça :)

That's all, ladies and gentlemen ! Have fun, and take care :)
Voilà pour cette fois, messieurs-dames ! Amusez-vous et portez-vous bien :)
Berien.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/the-rooted-les-enracines-wip-part-1/
Sort:  

very nice work, putted effort is visible here. Important to admit is a fact that according to the comments, plenty of people, including me, thought that it is some kind of animal, perhaps a dragon. In fact, the highest beauty of art is when there is a number of people watching the same picture and understanding it in the different way. Respect :)

Thank you @cubapl :)
A few people around me were thinking about some baby (animal or creature).

For my part, I'd see some intermediate step betwwen a static form and a more independant one...

Is it part of a tree becoming some more free-of-movement creature, or a frozen creature into a tree form ?

Hence the root idea, that can be seen as the base of a growing state, but also as its opposite : end of movement and maybe freedom.

Thanks for your comment (same for other steemians who did, here). I didn't really try to put words on the picture's meaning until you made me try to think about it :D

Ohhh that is an awesome idea, Berien :D. I really like that you are extending the picture, and the new art on the left looks beautiful and it enhances the whole picture.
                       
I'm looking forward to see the finished picture ^_^.

Thanks @scrawly :)
Happy you like it :)
Working like that, extending organically a picture, is always fun. The picture itself does all the work, and actually the guy with the pen is its tool :D

That is really incredible, look like from alien movie, love the texture, complex details of the drawing and the way you presented your work give idea how much time and efforts as well as ideas you put into your creation. Would be interesting how it will develop and the end result :)

Thanks a lot @stef1 :)

Next steps might be slow, but will be posted. I've already fixed the drawing under a good layer of acrylic binder and put a wash of paint...

Now, drying (or evaporating) times enter in the equation : working with very liquid paint on a surface that doesn't absorb anything isn't the best idea nor the fastest mechanic in the world :D

Good thing : it's a small format and that shouldn't take too long between each layer :)

Meantime, I setup the so-called frame's structure, which starts to look more like a box than a frame :D
That part goes faster than I'd think, so next posts will probably show this first :)

Hi berien,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

A great, great, and great Thank you ! :D

oh yes i remember this one very well <3 i think at the time i mentioned it it looked like a horned little dog or a baby dragon... i loves it very much, Pascal <3

it is such a delight to me that this is growing !!! OH YES <3 Wonderful!

And well done on documenting the process * ___ * Very lovely to go through the journey on this piece :>

Congrats for curie as well <3

Thanks @veryspider :)

I think your support these last weeks has been an ingredient of this idea. The creative energy boost it gave me made the idea go in that direction instead of my usual delete-and-start-over approach :D

So thanks again... I'll have to think of some give-away one of these days :p

Not at all, Pascal <3 I love your style and your talents, and I am super happy that you are getting more success here at Steemit <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

And I am glad this one escapes your 'delete and start over' approach !!! Though I understand the sentiment myself, hahahaha

I'm loving it, Pascal ! I shall continue to watch and appreciate and support your beautiful talents \o/

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

the poor dude still seems too lonely to me

For a start, you are doing good. But I agree that the drawing looks lonely. I am not sure how much further you plan to work on it but I wonder if you intend to keep it as black and white drawing. I prefer a colored version. I think it will look much livelier with colors.

Frame? Your foamboard looks great. I think a little art painting along the boarders will do. How about that?

Thanks for the answer :)

The drawing won't stay in black and white. The aim is to get the same color moud in both drawings, that will be embeded in the foamboard.

As it is, the foamboard can't be used raw : it's shreded in several points and isn't rigid anymore. So it can't support the two drawings (they're made on fiberboard, I forgot to mention that)

In all cases I won't go into shiny colours. My goal is to get oldish and greyish rendering, like if the drawings had endured passed time. At least, this is one more experimentation on that way :)

I think shiny colors will indeed not be good for the theme but it is good to know that it won't stay as black and white. I suppose you'll have another post when those two are completed and framed? 😊

Yes there will be following post(s) :)

Not sure how it will end with frame, still very misty and cloudy as an idea, but steps of drawing finalisation + first stages of coloring should follow next week.

I'll let the work say by itself how fast it wants to be done :)

I myself have a few things to put on a frame but got the same problem on what to use. I was thinking of cardboard and cover it with plastic (like the one they use for book cover) but haven't got the chance to sit down and work on them. Hopefully soon...

Good luck with the rest of your art! 😊

Thanks ! And good luck with your own :D

Thank you too. 😊

I like that you want your drawings to be happy and have company :) Yeah, that poor lonely fellow needed a friend :) I like that when you will put them together, they will fit perfectly after you adjusted the colors. But you know.. if I may say.. you may want to create another company to these two as even though they are next to each other, they look in different directions like they didn't really like each other :) What do you think? :)

Thank you for sharing! It is a great piece of work and I really love your idea!

Actually, their relation isn't so friendly... The more I work on it, the more I have feeling that one getting trapped at the benefit of the other, who seems to gain life and freedom of movement. Some kind of vicious relation, isn't it ? :D

I have thought of a third or even more pieces... That might occur. But I never plan my work so far in advance, mostly because I'm not really sure of how things are evolving through time...

Even if I set a global line at the start, I don't really control what happens in a drawing. Most of the time I have the feeling it simply uses me to draw itself, until things are all setup like they should be :D

I thought that was an animal lol
I forgot that the title is 'The Rooted'.
Obviously its a root lol

Anyways, its a root but you made a good enhancement that turned into an artwork.
Pretty nice Berien!

Thanks @ronel !
Its nature wasn't very clear for myself either, don't worry about that :D

Oh yeah!
And you're very much welcome!
Hope to see your other artwork.
Have a great day!

Hi berien,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Double "Thank you !" :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92