You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drawitbetter Contest Contest Entry

in #art7 years ago

I started my comment on #steemartists discord, I'll post it here here instead :)
My lack of English vocabulary might hurt here... but let's try :p

A bit more contrast between the nose and the throat would give more depth and volume to the image.

Reinforcing ligths on the snout/muzzle/nose (not sure of the word :p ) and maybe shadows of the throat would split more clearly foreground and background parts of the animal.

Eyes could benefit from a reduction of that contrast (not too much, as you made it clear : you want them to be the main focus), but that black around them is too strong compared to the nose/mouth that are foreground.

The same way, if you reduce that black's intensity, you could give it some nuances, so eyes by themsleve might gain in volume :)

Anyways, this is just the way i'd try to improve it a bit, but it's still a nice wolf portrait with good proportions ;)

Sort:  

Don't worry about your vocabulary, I understood what you want to say. You're definitely right and on point on my work needing more contrast and lighting adjustments. I didn't realize those minor details as I'm still struggling with values. I put in more hours practicing contrast again.

Thank you @berien for the well thought critique. I appreciate it very much. :)

Good luck with values. :)
Two or three little thoughts that helped me a lot when I started to struggle with values (they still help me, actually :p ) :

  • the more distance between you and an object, the less distance between its lights and shadows
  • the more distance between two objects, the more distance between their respective values
  • try to ban pure black and pure white as much as possible from coloured (or grey shaded) work.

They're not always true, but when starting they help harmonizing the global image. Later, it becomes interesting to discover when and where to trespass these "rules" :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64