Miniaturism, pointillism : To infinity and beyond !

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DSC04169_small.jpg

Hello everyone!

Today: thinking too much while drawing... So, let's share (with a few pictures ;) )

And if...

...If life was a travel to infinity...

Would art be the window from which we could gather that journey's pictures ?

 
Thinking

Infinity is wide, and everywhere.
You'd have to pick a direction first.

MechaTree

1- You could go for Large and Big !

Go Gigantic, starting by painting room walls, then seeking for larger surfaces, decorating whole buildings, tagging skyscrappers or even photo-shouting from mountain tops...

then...
Well..

You'd go on, further and larger as close as possible of your tools and universe's limits

That's a way...

MoonDots

castledots

2- But you could also go for Small and Tiny:


As would do macro-photographers, collecting large visions of a microscopical world.

As would do simple graphic dudes with a simple pen, filling sketch books, exploring that narrow blank space in the corner of a page, trying to get closer and closer to that macro world inside their own mind, always looking for a way to get that finiest line or these tiny dots, that'll help depicting unknown creatures and territories from infinite lands...

...And...
...Make them as wide as possible...
...As wide and dense as your hugely tiny universe's limits.

That's another way...
And if you choose this one :

 

Welcome on board of the miniaturism, pointillism, sketching and doodling train,

on departure to Infinity,

via the tiniest way. !

explore

That's all for today !
Have fun, and, either in tiny worlds or huge ones : explore your abilities ! :D

(All post's pictures : (c)Berien 2005-2018)

Sort:  

Interesting approach - it made me think of the Hobbits right away ..... I love unlocking inner worlds with marks on paper and then let them guide me into the unknown.

Thank you @thermoplastic :)

Hehe, I remember having been forced right from the start of this drawing to go on the dwarf/hobbit theme by a stupid mistake on the central character's proportions. :D

Building from random and let progressively something more structured emerge is something I love too, as composing with mistakes and unpredictability offers so much to work on.

Anyways, I'm not skilled enough from a technical point of view nor disciplined enough to fully take control of what I create, so I let randomness teach me part of what's possible :)

that is quite a testimonial, and I must say, particularly the "disciplined" part is true with me also. If I have to be disciplined, I get bored. When I get bored, my work is at best mediocre. I did, from time to time prove that I could be disciplined also, but there is no joy in it. I have a whole portfolio of disciplined work I rarely if ever show. It is as boring as could be. Great disciplined rendering, a show-off of skills but ........ yawn

Same here. Even if I regularily force myself to work on illustrations (because I find it an excellent exercise for explicit graphic storytelling), I know only luck will help get something interesting from the final result.

Like any training, it's useful, but too directed, too conscious to be complete.

Creative people, from any kind of art (visual, but also musicians, and so on), including experienced craftsmen and anybody who can find solutions to their problems thinking out of the box, are lucky enough to have access to a part of themselves that can work at a subconscious level... They are also lucky enough to have found a way to get connected to that part via their art, or their job.

Bringing their work back to excessive conscious control would be like curbing their abilities to a shallow level whereas there is so much to explore, discover, and depict deep into their own mind.

I'm glad I've found this place for that : when I see people's work, like yours, @krasnec, @patschwork, @romanie, and all those I can't name right now, I get an insight of what's an artist's goal or mission : depicting their own travel's vision influenced by their tools, surrounding events, experience and mood at that moment...

Discipline and control only become useful for the finishing touch, I think, and their function is clear : give a stop to that inner creative chaos and lead to a piece's end.

And...
It's time to call them here to stop myself...
... Just noticed how long was my answer ! :D

Thanks @thermoplastic for helping me putting words on these raw thoughts, though :)

Interesting! My opinion is that there's an equilibrium in between discipline and letting your mind go. Once you trained with discipline on some techniques, you can let your mind take over and what you've learn the hard way will help you get where you want (even if you don't know or don't want to know where you go). But too much of control it and indeed you might end up with something shallow. Espcecially if there's boredom involved! I compare it a bit with driving, once you learned, it's automatic. While on the road, don't think too much and let your training operate or you get confused!

There also a lot this in electronic music, impressive display of mastered techniques with a totally boring result.

Also personnally I like to sketch a lot to not have the constrain of having something good but then when I start a project, I like to have that constrain. I actually get bored without it.

Thanks @haedre for the return :)

I never do preparation sketches... I simply can't work twice on the same thing. All enregy goes in initial creation and then into its organic progressive modifications.

That said... That could simply mean all my work is a sketching session :D

I absolutely love pointillism I'm glad I found your work!

And I'm glad you like it :) Thanks a lot :)

I´m really in love with your sketchbook landscape. It´s magic. And I think art is at least exploring the infinity of one´s brain... But what, if one brain is infinite. What would be all brains together?

Thanks Patschwork ! :)
That drawing is pretty old, I remember it has given me the signal that it could be worth pushing the effort on drawing, until then I wasn't conscious I had some affinities with graphic disciplines :)

About, "all brains together"... Besides "a big reddish and white slimey wobbling thing" as an answer, I'm afraid we can see what it does by looking around us : they might neutralize each others by generating a plethora of useless creative-energy-consuming and conflictual situations.

That said, there are also plethora of good collaborative stuff... So the big reddish wobbling mass might also have its good sides :D

Awesome work, I have added you to the @ArtzOne voting list.

Thanks a lot, @artzanolino :)

All are really good!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by berien from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I LOVE YOUR ART SO...

follower.jpg

:-)

I've just started discovering your own work... I haven't read every post yet, but what I've just seen is really inspiring :)
So : Thanks a lot @agneslaczo :)

amazing work! thanks for sharing!

My pleasure :)
and Thank you too :)

I really love that miniature and how you use pointillism! We'd love to support your creations, why don't you join our community: @slothicorn? Thanks

Thanks a lot, really appreciated :)
Noobish question : how do we join ? :D
(I guess adding slothicorn tag in posts is a start ; I've noticed the discord address, so joining there might be the second step... Any other ? :) )

joining Discord, participating in our community and of course adding the tag that is filtered by our curators to give rewards to deserving artists!

Thanks for details :D
Not sure to be very active on discord, but I'll try to be time to time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61917.78
ETH 3393.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51