[EN] Graphite Artifact - "The Osprey"

in #art6 years ago

Collection : Graphite Artifacts 2018

WIP

Graphite on Medium Density Fibreboard (MDF)

Prepared with Gesso

length:40cm - width:5.5cm - depth:0.7cm

[cliquer ici pour la Version FR]


Mechanical pencil is at work again, on a recycled MDF panel, covered with a good layer of Gesso ; some spatula and spalter's strokes left, here and there, just enough to complicate my task a little bit :)

Once again, it's a matter of improvising an uninterrupted construction of contiguous elements, with an initial idea: to impose a strong curved movement on the whole thing.

Its coherence is based on the interaction of each of these components with its direct neighbours, whether it is to use them as supports, joints, or obstacles.

The processing of shadows and volumeing makes it possible to play with field depth and transparency, which adds new possibilities for work's organic evolution during its realization.

ZOOM





The cleaning of some defects is in progress. Soon a double layer of acrylic binder and varnish will protect everything.

In the meantime:

Thank you for taking the time to read this....

... Take care...

... and bye! :)

 


Eth - 0x8Fcce0AD10D4Bfa515160EB622Acd1EF66969832
Neo (Gas) - AehkhJuaFTgJZh35xEU6ZbmYtQyENXFQhA
Peercoin - PMfXA33BDnrtTNwHUFmyCKvA1RgK3SmWgP

 

Copyright @berien - All Rights Reserved

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/animal/en-graphite-artifact-the-osprey/

Sort:  

Wow this reminds me of Steampunk! I LOVE STEAMPUNK

Glad you like :)
Steampunk is great : so many creative possibilities that can be explored :)

Steampunk ambience, indeed, has its influence on my work :)

It's time to resteem one @berien again... :)

Thanks alot, Vesna ;)

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

If I ever have the money for the equipment and supplies I will build this drawing out of metal so that you can climb and play on it! Really cool shit.

-☺️

Could be fun :D
Anyways, thanks for the comment, and happy that you like it ;)

Amazing detail and depth, I can't wait to see in continue to grow. I used to paind on ply and mdf, it was a good solid surface.

Thanks @donnadavisart :)

I think there won't be much more details or surface added.

A few small bits here and there + cleaning of some not-fine-enough details. I'll try to stay somewhat disciplined for once, and won't make this invade completely the surface. :D

Agreed about MDF and Ply : Exactely the solidity that my dirty drawing methods required. I'm fond of these kind of supports :)

Your constructions are always so wonderful and intricate to look at, @berien :) It is also nice to see you posting again :) I hope you will post more~

Happy you like it :)

I wish I could post more often too, but post frequency is linked to my draw speed, and my good old mechanical pencil would disagree at working faster.

When I try to force it at going quicker on these curves and lines, the thing's tortured soul starts to draw ugly stuff on the support...

Also... I'm pretty sure it has broken up some of its graphite leads as an act of resistance too :D

Anyways ! Time to put the pencil at work, instead of typing silly things :D
Have a nice day @veryspider :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Amazing surreal idea!

Thanks a lot @sweettais :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84