Graphite Artifact-Mechatree - Worn out colouring experiment + video

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone ! :)

New piece in my series of attempts at reproducing worn out colours and ambiance.

(01:20s timelapse video)

That was a spontaneous and flawless start, so I haven't taken lots of shots during firt steps.
Sorry for that :)



I used the usual base I'm comfortable with :

  • graphite drawing
  • small wooden tablet as a support
  • several layers of work separated or mixed with Acrylic blender
  • Tempera gouache (primary colors + a bit of white when needed) for colouring. Its translucency is great here, but its fragile, so : blender layer between each stage.

Support wasn't blank : already used before for multiple tests. It had also a layer of englued paper.

I roughly covered it with a gesso layer, letting still see bits of previous work.

From the start, before starting the graphite work, the goal was to get a dirty/wornout effect.


This picture was one of the last graphite drawing evolution.


Mechatree_full.jpg

Mechatree_bottom.jpg

Mechatree_Triangle.jpg

Here we are !
Cheers :)

And don't forget to try, experiment and have fun !


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm so impressed with the care you give to the process. I so often see artists here just producing with no thought to correct technical process and to me it is so important as it adds to the longevity of the work.

Which is weird as I've always thought myself as someone who didn't really know what he was doing :D

To be honest, this "graphite+blender" method I'm now so found of is born from a random experiment that didn't aimed at all at drawing protection.

I wanted to test some digital laser printed picture transfer from paper to wood, gluing print with acrylic blender on a random plank which had some handwritted graphite measures on it.

Transfer method was not a great success, but hell ! What an effect on these little numbers ! That's the kind of stupid stuff that makes you feel like you had invented the wheel or discovered fire :D

Since then I try to see what I can get from this, because it's really great to see usually fragile graphite drawing getting as persistent as painting.

Experimentation is very important, without it, there would be no progress or invention. There is an artist here who started experimenting with toner ink powders and found a way of bonding it to canvas, where it would usually brush off at the slightest touch. You never know when playing around may turn into a discovery.

Oh yes, agreed !
Experimentation is what makes me look further into any discipline : testing, failing, observing and trying to get that little shiny gem that pops out of failure's dust :D

The mark of a great artist is the ability to reproduce the gem from failures dust and therein lies the importance of documenting what and how you do things

Documenting... That's something I didn't really think about until recently : when I realized I was totally unable to explain anything about painting or drawing to my own daughters...
Hence my recent attempts at sharing these bits of experience I've managed to explain verbally to myself. :D

That's what having kids is for, to remind you that those answers will be asked What and How and then of coarse do it again

Well you've achieved your objective, it has an amazing found piece/wornout look to it. I love it. I just found you thanks to @romanie and am now happily following.

I am always impressed and happy that we have such a great collective of artists here on steemit and each time I find another amazing artists I think how lucky I am to have that circle grow!

Thanks a lot !
I am too surprised by how many great artists I've discovered since I've joined two or three months ago. That's simply a pure mine of inspiration, boosting personal need to create :)

This is so pretty. In my mind it is used as experimental machine used by a mad scientist!

Well... at first there was a mad guy willing to draw a tree... Something went wrong rather quickly :D

Haha oops.. I still like it so much. well you know what happens if I try to take a picture of a tree ;)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

very pretty ! love the texture and the details * ___ * beautiful work~

upvotes

Your post to are the mind good could not

Thanks :)

Wonderful work. Followed.

Thanks a lot :)
You're own digital work from smartphone made me curious :)
Following back :)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Nice work! :D

Upvoted and followed

Thanks a lot, appreciated ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43