Doodle Art - Creation Process

in #art7 years ago

Finished.jpg
''We Don't Need You Anymore...'' (ink on canvas - 70 x 90 cm)

Lots of details right? After many, many liters of coffee and a lot of hours later I finally finished this piece back in januari. Although I've shared this piece in my introduction already, I still wanted to make a post about it, since it took me quite some time and I want as many feedback/response as I can get. Making it was a journey on itself, but what really makes it come to life are the interpretations of others.

So let's get to it!
I started off just like I always do - no idea or concept whatsoever, just a random shape or in this case, a random character. I knew that it would be a very complex piece, so I made sure to begin right in the middle to leave enough space for ideas that had yet to come. ''But how do you know where to start with?'' Like I said, I start off with random shapes, but those are often shapes that turned into routines over time. That gives me the ability to start off quickly without any difficulty or creation blockage.

Proces 1.jpg

And so it began, inspiration floating all around me
Because I had left all the empty space around my draft, I could improvise and sketch it piece by piece. With some strategically thinking and a cup off black magical caffeine (yes I drink it too much) I started expanding, creating some sort of an artificial construct, looking like a portal of some kind. That intrigued me, so I took that as a rough concept.

Proces 5.jpg

From there I wanted the artificial looking construct to become a big and overwhelming machine, to give it the 'Star Wars' feel with the dominance of Artificial Intelligence. I figured it could also show a resemblance between the direction our world is going with it's tripled speed of the digital evolution. I took that concept to work from: The takeover of A.I. and it's might and mercilessness. A.I. can be seen as both positive or negative, as it is a versatile concept. But for the purpose of this artwork, I wanted to portray the possibility of a more grim outcome.

Proces 6 cut.png

From draft to concept
My main focus was to enhance this artificial/machinal type of environment, consuming the living creatures with each their own unique appearances and features, only to be turned into a colorless controlled/programmed pawn. Therefor I added a lot of random shaped figures to underline this artificial feel.

Proces 8.jpg

I also added a space atmosphere above the construct, to prevent complete chaos on the overall looks of the artwork.

Proces 9.jpg

To add something extra to it, I added a typical 'Parental Advisory' sign, but slightly altered it's message.

Proces 10.jpg

Proces 12.jpg

End in sight
The most time consuming part was adding details and layers to highlight certain parts or to smoothen and balance the overall composition.

Proces 14.jpg

Proces 16.jpg

Literally thousands of simple pen dots were detailed on the sides of certain shapes or as fillings to create a texture. After that psychological challenge, my piece was as good as finished, my mind was broken.

Proces 17.jpg

''We Don't Need You Anymore...''.jpg
Enhanced image

So what do you think? Is it too much chaos for your eyes? Or on the contrary, is it satifying instead? What does this artwork tell you, or mean to you?

I didn't want to make this post too long, so if there is any interest in close up photo's, I will happily make another post for those.

Feel free to upvote or resteem this post if you liked it. You can also follow me for future artworks and other content. Leave a comment and I'll be a happy man.

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Just looked through all your drawings, we draw very similar but yours just are insane! It honestly amazes me man. Can't wait to see more, you're very very talented

Thank you for your nice comments, look forward to seeing your works aswell, gave a follow back :)

No problem :) Thank you, will tag you in the post as you reminded me to post mine haha

Awesome ,hope some day get paid same you as my post 😎

To me, your time to check my artwork out is most value, thank you sir.

For sure 🙂

Wow! At first it reminded me of Picasso's Guernica! Lovely! And the steps useful - well, if you're as talented as you that it ;) Followed and started upvoting! I wanna see moooore :D

Glad you like it! And don't worry, there is more to come!

Excellent work, I couldn't draw to save my life, I'm an airbrush artist myself, check out my posts

Thanks man! I like your air brushing skills, returned the favor with a follow ;).

THAT is an immense amount of work and passion! I am really impressed.

Thank you very much, I really appreciate that!

Awesome ;) Great work :))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55