🍵 Coffee 'N Sketch // 4 // Funky Doodle

in #art6 years ago

Hey Everyone!


Check out 🍵 Coffee 'N Sketch #3

Color Doodle.jpg


Colors! I took the heavy stripes, crosses and arrows to another level by creating a colored version. It turned out to be funky fresh! You can expect more of these, as this was merely a experimental version. I already see myself making bigger canvas pieces of these.


20180729_175126.jpg


20180729_174338.jpg


20180729_174421.jpg


20180729_174310.jpg


Which colors should I use next, hmm...


Benjabanana.png


Keep grindin'!

Steem On! 🚀

Sort:  

I like the organized yet playful tone of this tone. It's like looking at a fast-paced modern jazz music on paper :D great choices of colours, too <3

It's like looking at a fast-paced modern jazz music on paper

Lovely interpretation!

I like the burst of energy colors can create, especially after a long time of making black and white artwork. Appreciate the feedback! :)

Nice work and visual presentation. I’d Love to see more writing about your process and inspiration.
What inspires the geometry here? Nature? The city grid? Perhaps the intersection of the two.
The major iconic symbols that I pick up on at first are arrows. Of course there are many primitive symbols such as circles and squares, but I’m searching for more.
Good work!

Interesting to learn your first impression and a second more ''in depth'' interpretation. Thank you for that, someone else's perspective gives me more insight.

What inspires the geometry here?

Im not really sure. I guess it started with the term Horror Vacui, which is an ancient Latin term for the fear of empty space. It was used on old pottery as decoration. When I learned about it, quite some years ago, it really intrigued me.

The reason why my shapes look like these is probably my search for simplicity and structure. I'm a big overthinker; making these help to visualise the chaos into a organised chaos and relieves the mind.

Thank you for your time!

My girlfriend is a collector and loves to have things everywhere, claiming her fear of empty spaces, so I’m familiar with the term regarding interior spaces. I’m looking at your work and realizing that maybe I have the same fear too, but my spaces are paper, canvas and IPad screens where I create my work.

Oh, that's interesting, to have the actual feeling in the space around you. You have a point on having a blank canvas, yet at the same time it also creates room to visualise. I like how all these things can have such a contradicting impact on each other.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88