You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Combating Farmer Suicide With Art

in #art8 years ago

That's such an uplifting story.

"One man's trash is another man's treasure"

It's amazing that the farmers saw this possibility lying in the rubble that would have been tossed away. To create art that would be an amazing conversation piece out of old rusty pieces is such a creative idea. I would love to have a piece like this someday to display in my yard. Because it is already rusty, there is no need to worry about any further rust! Brilliant!

Thanks for sharing this.

I appreciate the creativity of the farmers coming up with this idea in stead of succumbing to suicide and giving up all hope.

I will be following you and hope to see more great content like this.

Sort:  

Thanks @bendjmiller. Some of the sculptures had a shiner look to them but I love the rusty ones the most too. That jacket on the dancing sheep made from old tyres looked pretty cool though. There is power in a strong community and some Australian towns sure know how to harness that spirit.

I agree! I love the dog, the wrenches welded together that show a sheep being sheered, and the metal "fencing" used on the dancing sheep.

Having struggled with suicidal thoughts myself, I am glad that these creative artists found a venue to create something beautiful and valuable.

Steemit has actually helped me get through my own anxiety and depression and I will be forever grateful for the avenue that it has allowed me to speak through. Without it, I would continue to dread when people asked what type of job I had (currently jobless, but I consider myself an aspiring blogger learning my voice).

I have a lot of hope to help others and use the platform of steemit to allow me to watch my nephews so they don't have to go to daycare, fund my return trip to africa to visit friends and continue to fight injustice there, and allow me the flexibility to be there for friends and family in a way that a normal 9-5 will not.

I'm not at that point yest, but am working hard to learn from others with success and learn about myself in the process. It's a great time to be a part of steemit.

Thanks again for posting this. Have already showed the pictures to a few others who shared my love of creativity.

It is a funny how when we are unemployed aspiring creatives, we feel embarrassed when people ask us what we do. Like we have to justify ourself worth. One thing I learnt though is most people ask it just as a conversation starter, to break the ice. The 'judgement' we feel is something we project out not necessarily something people are doing to us. I have been there before. I wish I had Steemit back then too :) I have started following your blog and wish you all the best with finding your voice here.

Many thanks! Make yourself at home in the comments section as I always appreciate seeing what people enjoy or dislike about my work. Unlike some, not every post I make is successful by most people's standards. Some pieces are more for me like the tribute to my dog/ best friend. Tribute Piece

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42