DOES POETRY STILL ALIVE? / LA POESÍA TODAVÍA VIVE?

in #art4 years ago (edited)

DOES POETRY STILL ALIVE?

Biblioteca Pública de Nueva York/ NYC Public Library

Personally, I'm passionate about poetry.

I love to read it, I love to write it.

But sometimes, immersed in this society of images and videos, I often wonder if poetry is dying.

And I think this from the position that an image can quietly be poetry, and convey a feeling with the same fervor as words.

But ... how long will the letters be able to permeate the screens?

Printed books are dying, at least in Argentine society.

People read less and less, and those of us who read are considered strangers, as if we are out of tune with the majority of people.

Sure, I don't give a damn about being out of tune, I've been out of tune all my life and for several years I've been very happy just being me.

But I cannot and don't want to allow poetry to get out of tune.

How can something that reaches the most subtle of being be out of the game?

Likewise, it makes me happy to know that there are still societies that value the word, that buy books, that read in parks, that enjoy written art.

Perhaps this is my vision and it is probably biased to my context, both from the Argentine community and from my social circles.

But suddenly I talk to others and find that they also feel out of tune.

So I confirm that we are a few who go out of tune with a few.

I want to think that these few are the bright contrast in the dark, like the night map that shows the illuminated cities in the world.

Well, the illuminated cities before the coronavirus spread over the Planet.

Perhaps poetry is dying.

But "if there is still life, there is hope", say the doctors.

So while written art lives, here we will be its guardians protecting it.

In our hands is not only his life, but also his procreation.

Una chica escribiendo en High Line Park, NYC. / A girl writing in High Line Park, NYC.

LA POESÍA TODAVÍA VIVE?

Personalmente, soy una apasionada de la poesía.

Me encanta leerla, me encanta escribirla.

Pero a veces, inmersa en esta sociedad de las imágenes y los videos, a menudo me pregunto si la poesía no estará agonizando.

Y pienso esto desde la postura de que una imagen, tranquilamente puede ser poesía, y transmitir un sentimiento con el mismo fervor que las palabras.

Pero… hasta cuándo las letras serán capaces de impregnar las pantallas?

Los libros impresos están muriendo, al menos en la sociedad argentina.

La gente cada vez lee menos, y a los que leemos, nos consideran unos raros, como si desentonáramos con la mayoría de la gente.

Claro, a mí me importa un bledo desentonar, he desentonado toda la vida y desde hace varios años me siento muy feliz siendo simplemente yo.

Pero no puedo ni quiero permitir que la poesía desentone.

Cómo va a estar fuera de juego algo que llega a lo más sutil del ser?

Igualmente, me hace feliz saber que aún hay sociedades que valoran la palabra, que compran libros, que leen en los parques, que disfrutan del arte escrito.

Quizás esta sea mi visión y probablemente esté sesgada a mi contexto, tanto desde la comunidad argentina como desde mis círculos sociales.

Pero de pronto hablo con otros y descubro que también se sienten desentonando.

Entonces confirmo, que somos unos pocos que desafinan con unos cuantos.

Quiero pensar que estos pocos somos el contraste brillante en el oscuro, como el mapa de noche que muestra las ciudades iluminadas en el mundo.

Bueno, las ciudades iluminadas antes de que el coronavirus se expandiera sobre el Planeta.

Quizás la poesía esté muriendo.

Pero “si todavía hay vida, hay esperanza”, dicen los médicos.

Así que mientras el arte escrito viva, aquí estaremos sus guardianes protegiéndolo.

En nuestras manos está no solo su vida, sino también su procreación.

The pictures were taken by me in NYC, with an iPhone 8+.

Las fotos fueron tomadas por mí con un iPhone 8+.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30