Sanji Vinsmoke || Fanart

in #art6 years ago

Hello all! I'm here with another drawing, this time deciding to draw Sanji Vinsmoke from One Piece. The idea was to draw him in his childhood clothes.

Here is the final piece:

20190206_213913.png

And now for the process...

Before I began. I sketched out a really rough draft for me to refer to every now and again to keep the image I had in my mind fresh.

Screenshot_20190206-212701.png

I sketched out a basic head shape as a focal for me to build from, sketching in lines as a guide for the direction he would be looking. I then started shaping his jaw and neck somewhat, adding in his ears as a guide for the facial details later.

Screenshot_20190206-212704.png

I drew his hair, starting from left to right, drawing shaggy looking strands hanging over half of his face, falling around the left side of his face. I then did the same from left to right for the remaining back of his hair, down to he back of his neck.

Screenshot_20190206-212707.png

I then drew in his facial details starting with his swirling eyebrow and below his eye, thickening the lines up to stand out more. Then I sketched a few lines for his nose and mouth, drawing in his facial hair and adding in a cigarette from his mouth

Screenshot_20190206-212710.png

Following down his neck, I drew the scarf resting on his shoulders, sketching in his arms and the remains of his torso. I added the shirt over the top and sketched in creases over the shirt and scarf and added the number three over the top.

Screenshot_20190206-212712.png

Screenshot_20190206-212715.png

I began to colour it after inking. Starting with the skin, I used brush markers. Using Almond as a base I began to go around the areas that will be most shaded using Dusky Pink, blending the two until satisfied.

I used a Praline colour to add some more tone to the shaded areas, especially around the neck and around the hair.

Screenshot_20190206-212718.png

I then started the hair. I used Faber-castell Polychromos. Starting by shading the top of the hair using Cadmium Yellow, and once satisfied I began to shade around the darker areas using Burnt Ochre. I used Cream to blend in and then started colouring the back of the hair using Burnt Ochre and shading with Walnut Brown.

Screenshot_20190206-212721.png

For the scarf and the number 3 on his shirt, I coloured using Indigo Blue and Azure, though I'm aware they're not the original colours, I liked these colours more ☺ I also used the same colours for his eye. For the shirt, I used a Sunflower colour for the Base and began to add shading using Orange until satisfied with the tone and then blended out with a Yellow Ochre.

Screenshot_20190206-212726.png

Screenshot_20190206-212728.png

Finally, I used a white ink pen to go around the face somewhat and to add details on the clothing and in the hair.

Here it is finished:

20190206_213913.png

Thank you for stopping by to take a look!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bek-Seii from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60617.06
ETH 2405.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59