"We People, Wee People" Images of the Preamble

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The images below introduce a series of posts exploring the Preamble to the Constitution.


"Fat Man"

Fat Man was the codename for the bomb the United States detonated over the Japanese city of Nagasaki. The background grid of letters is the Preamble.

note: While I will not explain the meaning of these images I will share a few childhood experiences that help explain my inspiration. They took place in public school, during the Cold War with Russia. The first was my participation in bomb drills, that’s right, for nuclear bombs coming from Russia. The teachers would say, “crouch under your desk, keep your head down for protection.” It was crazy, made some of us laugh and some of us cry. The second experience occurred when I had to learn the Preamble to the Constitution. I am not sure if I ever got it right, or for that matter, if I even understood what it meant. It was just something I had to do, a requirement to pass American History.

“We People, Wee People”

note: I love the title I chose for this piece, you can twist it to mean many different things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67