You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have You Ever Felt As Unworthy ?

in #art6 years ago

Hey dude! What a great article.. this is the stuff i have been missing on Steemit lately.. stupid work! :D

Really well written man.. I love it!

I personally always keep to myself in search of criticism first.. Especially when it comes to work and study.. What do I like or dislike about it.. what couldve been done better.. when I established that for myself i feel free to ask what others think..

I have also learned to not take everyones critique or opinion for the same value. .. as mean as it sounds :D
If someone who clearly has a lesser understanding of a certain subject or is not on the same level.. I will not weigh that critique the same as an equal or from someone that is on a much higher level..

Though even that person that I consider to be 'further'/higher can still be wrong in my eyes.

Other than that.. a rule i usually go by is.. be uncomfortable..
It sounds so lame but i hope you understand what i mean.

When you study.. dont do the same stuff always.. when you work.. dont make everything in the same style.. mix it up,, learn,, look, observe, reproduce, change, adapt all that stuff that makes you think twice before you put a stroke down helps you so much in getting better and developing yourself as an artist.. as well as a person.

That whole approach you take on your work will leak into the way you make decisions in your personal life too.. which.. if it makes you grow an artist.. it might also grow you as a person :D

--/ end life lessons!

Cheers !

Sort:  

Yeaaaaye !!

I've seen you've been quite busy lately as well !! Thank you for the support man !

Though even that person that I consider to be 'further'/higher can still be wrong in my eyes.

This is a really good point I forgot about, You're right in always keeping a critical eye with the feedbacks you receive. It is very important to be aware of that, but I guess there is always a way to test it out and see if it works by yourself =D I tend to be really skeptical about this as well and at some point I don't know if it's skepticism or ego talking, like 10 years ago when a pro told me to work on my values and anatomy :" naaaah he doesn't know what he's talking about"... haha... Ego is so bad....

Oh ! About that being uncomfortable, I get your point, but also think that we need to get uncomfortable until we feel good and then move on. otherwise it's like we just jump from skill to skill and never learn as well, what do you think ?
ALso lately a friend sent me this :
to help visualize the different steps to efficient learning. It's mindblowing haha And it reminds me what you are saying by changing it and adapting what you learn.

Thank you so much for your comment, it is really interesting ! To think twice before putting down the stroke is something that comes back often from great artists, like, think before, take it slow... But I find this very difficult to put in practice effectively haha... But strangely enough sometimes I feel it when I'm in the flow, like on some parts of the drawing I tend to think first and visualize as well but it is yet not easy task.

How did you learn to think first, did it come to you naturally ? =D

Cheers Beek !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81