Painting - Game of Thrones - Portrait studies - Jon Snow & Arya Stark

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemo's!

As some of you might know I'm an artist that works for films and games blablabla.. :)

Anyway, most of the time I get asked by clients to create things.. come up with stuff from imagination and make it look as real as possible.. In order to do that you get references so you know how certain things look in real life, or how some materials react to light or whatever..

As an artist you need to try and learn all those things and understand what is happening most of the time.. It is crucial in order to make images look believable.. even when the subject matter might not be!

So one of the ways I train myself is to paint studies and focus on certain aspect,, proportion, light and color or certain materials etc..

So a few months ago I made a whole series of Game of Thrones portrait studies to train myself and get better! :)

Here are the studies I did of Jon Snow & Arya Stark -
2017-58.png
2017-57.png

Sort:  

to get better? You are already doing it perfect! they are better than any photo. Amazing!

ahhw ;) Thanks! But yeh,, practicing and learning to at some point be able to create such faces without a reference, but just from mind. :)

So realistic,when i saw for the first time,i think it was a photo 😅 amazing skill dude 👏👏

Congratulations my friend, you have amazing skills!
..and your work sounds incredible !!!
I think it must be the most fun in the world.

Hire me as your secretary. When do you want me to start?
Cheers
-Monk

haha sounds good mate ;) You also work in weekends? ;)

With triple pay of course.
But I'll bring you a cup of coffee (or beer if there is hangover) at no extra cost ;) ;)
Think about it, future boss.

hahaha sounds like a plan! I'll have that beer today ;)

Cheers for that, boss!
Hahaha

wow gorgeous bravo i love these really art
blog.png

again live your brushwork ^ _ ^

haha Thank you (^^,)

The proportionality of your painting is superb!
I would love to know if you did a grid method or free hand sketching with this one.

Thanks, i did not use a grid but did use reference, they took a while to paint and get exactly right. :)

Thank you ! appreciate it!

Damn you talented 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Thank you very much :D

Holy shit! <-- Literally the words that came out of my mouth when I saw your Jon Snow. (And not only because I think he's freaking gorgeous irl.) Seriously, I know you've got skills, but damn! You've totally captured their likenesses, and their essence, while still keeping it loose and painterly. Training done right!

Thank you so much @offbeatbroad :) took a while to paint these and was indeed really hard to get that liking in there.. Good reference helps though :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87