Painting & Drawing - The Cultist

in #art7 years ago (edited)

2017-69.png

Hello Steemerz!

Hope you are doing fine today? :)

Here I'd like to share one of my most recent paintings 'The Cultist' that I painted after a painting I did about 3 years ago..
I wanted to see how I would paint it now and the difference is quite significant :)

I find myself more and more trying to go and take a 'painterly' route to these kind of images instead of a more illustrative way.

I used to do a clean line drawing that was then a guide for me to go and make the image. Now I try more to just use it as a sketch.. an idea what is still very much open to change throughout the process of creating the image.

The painting I did in 2013 ! ... I had probably painted this in 1 day maybe more..
CultistF2.jpg

The painting this week in 2017:
2017-69.png (please do click it to see in full-size.)

It is a completely different style which I think is for the better ;)

I made a quick tutorial/process video on how I painted this image. You can check that out here:

Please let me know what you think!

Thank you!

Cheers
-Rogier

Sort:  

Wow, incredible comparison! The newer one has such depth and flow, and is so soft. Really nice "painterly" feel, for sure. It's amazing, how much more engaging a piece is when you've got more of a feel for the whole scene.

Thanks so much @offbeatbroad :) I think it is indeed more immersive and mysterious which adds to the story telling of the piece itself! :)

BTW! Have you received the prints?! :)))

Not yet! I'll definitely let you know as soon as they arrive. 😊

Just here to show you some love again. You know i love your art.

thanks sergio :) Supporter of the 1st hour for sure! I appreciate man!

Indeed. Was great to see that they have picked Your post :D

Oh wow! that is fantastic! following for more :)

Thank you so much! Welcome to the club haha! :)

woohoo i love clubs :)

That Is amazing, I love how you've 'improved' If you can call It that lol.

Thanks mate ;)))) I call it improvement.. sure :D haha

Haha well I didn't want to insult you and make It sound like your older picture was bad or anything, because Its an amazing piece of work too, but your newer piece Is better :D

haha no insult mate i know the newer one is better.. at least i think it is :D Thank you for ur support anyway haha :D

Haha no worries pal, your art is great :)

I am reminded by watching your video how important and helpful it is to flip a drawing horizontally to see if anything needs to be adjusted. Your work is very impressive!

Hahaha yeah man,, it is key to spot your mistakes early on! :D

Yes progress can be seen, new one is smoother and atmosphere is done more misterious. You are such active hard worker, respect!

Thank you @jungwatercolor :) I have not sit still the last few years ;)

The artwork is amazing and you are very talented, thank you for sharing this with us. I dream of the day I can do anything close to this type of artwork. How long did it take you to create this masterpiece?

Thank you very much ^^
It is a matter of practice, patience and perseverance.. :D
Painting the new version took about 3 to 4 hours, the old one well over day i think.

nice drawing and excellent video

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beekart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Awesome art, excellent skills you have! Keep up with the good work, following and upvoted!

Thank you very much :) I do my best ^^

Congratulations @beekart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64