Art - Zombie Batman - My most elaborate pencil artwork so far :P

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Heya dudes & dudettes! :)

Last weekend I worked on a commission I had gotten from someone who requested 'Something Zombie'..
Literally the only description I got was that :)

So I was totally free in doing / drawing whatever I wanted.

So..... Batman! .. Plus Zombie.. Equals Zombie Batman!
That seemed like fun to me!
And thus I drew this.. as i was given a fair compensation I knew I would really have to do my best to make it worthwhile.

I hadn't really seriously drawn with pencils in a while.. i normally just sketch. So i got my old case open, sharpened them all up so I could get started! :)


Before I started on this paper, I first did a few small thumbnail sketches to see what I wanted to do for the portrait. I had a few options but I liked this pose / composition the most.. so I started!

As you see.. i started really light.. with a 2H pencil sharpened till the max so i could make nice thing lines and sketch out some shapes.

I then started to fill out some value shapes. Trying to plan the lighting, which i knew was going to be fairly soft.

Taking it a step further.. at this point it is just rendering.. not much interesting things to say really :P
This is still the 'rough' rendering style that determines where and what will be shadow or light.

Now we come to the point where I put away my 2H pencil and grab an HB one ;) .. a bit softer, and a bit darker.. starting to get in there and make some parts a little darker to push the depth.

** TIP -> When you draw in your 'darks/shadows' try making the overlapping between light (white) and shadow the darkest. This is the area where a color 'burns.' in our eyes these are often the darkest and signal of a space where there was the least light hitting.

Hope that makes any sense :)


I carried on rendering in the meantime and here is the end result!

Zombie Batman!

That was it for me! :) Hope you like!

Cheers
Rogier / @beekart

Sort:  

Zombie batman what a great and weird idea! Cool ^.^

heheh yeah i guess! :) ^>^ thnx

Wuo @beekart, maintains a good level...
saludo. =)

Thnx mate!

zombie batman is so hungry for brain !!! very nice pencil work, i love the shading and the crosshatching, and that bulging eye is so fun :D :D :D

hehehe :D thank you very much! :)

Wow, amazing drawing. I'd pull my hair out if I got a commission request that vague. At least in my experience, people who start out vague tend to get real picky along the way. And then I have to make a butt-ton of changes. I prefer pickiness to come at the begining so I know exactly what they want.

haha thanks, well the person commissioning me pretty much just gave me all the freedom.. so it was nice :P could just do whatever!

This is so rad! If you’re going to do a zombiefied drawing, Batman is a pretty great direction to go. lol I hope they love it, because this is all kinds of awesome.

Thanks i hope so too :P i think they will :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome!!!
I love Batman, but the zombie version is also very cool!!
Your amazing artist!!👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87