Art - The Super Upgoat -

in #art7 years ago (edited)

upgoat-7.png

Hello Steemers!

Today I'd like to share with you this 'Upgoat' picture I illustrated.
We have all seen the crazy Up-Goats around the Steemit boards.. They come from the Minnow Booster project if I am not mistaken!

A little while back I got on their whitelist and they have helped me in getting some of my posts seen as well as making it worth more my time to really invest in it.
Also one of their peeps @techslut helped me out tremendously getting to know Steemit and how everything works around here..

So this was a cool way of doing something back for her/them!


Here is how I painted/drawn it.


First to get a bit of the idea down including some basic shapes..
upgoat-1.png
Then I had to draw the actual design of how this image would work.
upgoat-2.png
After this I actually did 1 more CLEAN lineart pass and filled it with some base colors.
upgoat-3.png
Now it is time to breath some life into it by adding colors and glow to the moun as well as some basic shadow shapes.
upgoat-4.png
Refining some more and actually draw in all the details and add some shapes for where the light hits.. Didnt want to make it look too 2d.
upgoat-5.png
Now it is time to color correct it a little bit and add some atmosphere to bring it all together :)
upgoat-6.png

Here I added the MB logo and refined things here and there... The final Image!
upgoat-7.png

Hope you guys like it!
I had also recorded the process in a video.. So if you are interested to see that keep an eye out for that blog/dtube video!

Thank you for your time!

Cheers!
Rogier


Video:

Shop for prints, clothes, originals and other: https://www.etsy.com/shop/Beekartdesigns

Sort:  

Just amazing... really good work...

Hahaha thanks ;) Amazing goats!

awsome!! is this the first steemit related illustration? one for the steemit colouring book :) also Rogier you have probably seen the steemit silver bullion coin around...

This was the design by @bearone that got selected by the community votes and minted in a limited run of 1500 coins. Well the 2018 coin will start design phase early in the new year and i would love to see a design by you. It can be anything to symbolise steemit. Please have a think about it, its been at the top of my mind since i first saw your work :)

Thanks owen! I think it is the first one for me :P
Although the fish people from yesterday could add to the pool.. though are there 'Sharks' on Steemit? :P

I had not yet seen that coin no.. :o that looks pretty cool! What is it exactly? I'd love to take a look and see if I can do something for it, would be great :o

Woah amazing! Thank u for that! Made our day over at @buildteam. :) pm me on Discord, would love to chat to you sometime.

Hi @thecryptodrive ! Thank you, happy to hear that! Sure, feel free to msg me whenever you see me around .. name is beekart on discord too! Cheers!

Very cool indeed!

Thanks mate :D glad you like it!

OMG Beek, this is more than awesome!!! :D
@minnowbooster could use this for their upgoats!

But only, like, the really big ones!!!

I hope so.. that would be super cool ;)

I love it!

Thank @dprn ;)

you are welcome beautiful :)

I love you so hard right now... <3 <3 <3

How hard?! XD

Oh he knows. <3

I love the Upgoat! So fantastic @beekart. "To the Moon" indeed!

Thanks @bigpanda :D Glad you like it!

This is really a nice look. Takes me back to my days of picking up a stack of comics every week for the art, then having them read in 2 days.....

haha cool :D Thank you.. I normally paint in a fairly different way but i thought it fitted nicely with the theme ;D

Wonderful artwork, this really made my day! Thanks for sharing the design process with us. The look and feel of it says possible cartoon show in the making. The Adventures of Super Upgoat & Friends.

lol :D how awesome would that be :P
lazer eyes.. from a goat..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59