BEASTLY TALES -THE TAILOR

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE TAILOR


In Hong Kong tailors will make a suit in a day,
And a most reasonable price you will pay.
In western countries suits can be bought from the rack,
In Department Stores, that nothing do lack.
You can buy suits at almost any price,
Some quite awful, others quite nice.
But if you care to inspect the maker’s tag,
You’d find that Asia is the origin they brag.
Particularly China, the biggest maker of clothes,
Exported en-mass as the image behoves.


Now what happened to the old fashioned tailor?
Who would fit you out, whether business man or sailor.
In fact, Gentlemen’s Outfitters, they were called.
To shop elsewhere, gentry would be appalled.
One such London City tailor,
Was the renowned Ebenezer Grailor.
Purveyor of clothes for the well to do,
I’d shop there, wouldn’t you?
That is, if I could afford the fees,
But to pay such prices, I’d be on my knees.

A sumo wrestler who received high pay,
Decided to go there, one fine day.
When the Sumo (whose name was Suzuki-San) arrived,
Ebenezer, the tailor, quickly contrived,
To ensure he had a long measuring tape,
To measure the Sumo for cloth he would drape.
Over the Sumo’s gargantuan frame,
If he ran out of cloth, he wasn’t to blame.
Ebenezer, his duty to converse not to shirk,
Asked, “Will you wear this suit to your work?”
Suzuki-San responded, “I think not”,
“When I’m working I don’t wear a lot!”
“This is nice material”, the tailor did proffer
Suzuki-San said, “Is it the best on offer?”
“No, we have a fabric that is so specially made”,
“That we do not often show it for trade”.
“It is made in a famous Italian mill”,
“And the lightness and pattern do constantly thrill”.
“For me this is the one to buy, it is wise”,
“So chop me off lengths that are Sumo size”.

Now Ebenezer, at this, did not balk,
Instead, he produced his tailor’s chalk.
“I’m a Sumo champ of the world, you know”,
“And so I earn astronomical dough!”
So the tailor did as he was bid,
But the available cloth barely hid,
The gigantically sized Sumo frame,
“It won’t fit any where near. What a real shame”.
The Sumo said, “Well I do suppose”,
“You’ll have enough for my working clothes!”

Mr Galoot did now arrive,
“This cloth, will it a moth attack survive?”
“What I absolutely do really need”,
“Is a suit well made from Harris Tweed”.
Ebenezer now measured up old Mr Galoot”,
And claimed his midriff had gained a foot.
Said Mr Galoot, “I know that gives you much pleasure”
“But perhaps you should be getting a new tape measure!”

tailor.png

Sort:  

“Well I do suppose”,
“You’ll have enough for my working clothes!”
Wow what a funny and interesting post!

These poems have a special touch that I have tried to decipher and I do not know what it is, excellent as always

As always, your post is full of inspirations & insights, dear @beastlybanter...❤
Your posts always make us feel fresh...

Thanks for sharing & have a great day...☕❤

How do you come up with this stuff? This one is so funny. Suzuki-san responded, "I think not", " when I'm working I do not wear a lot!"

Great poem, what happened to the old fashioned tailor?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62