BEASTLY TALES - THE PERPENDICULAR PRONOUN

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE PERPENDICULAR PRONOUN

Known as the perpendicular pronoun is “I”.
The pronoun of first person singular. My.
Or, to be more precise, the word Me.
I, me, my. Such repeated common usage, I wonder why?
Could it be that in ourselves we’re all so wrapped up?
Only when considering others are we abrupt?
Probably, that’s the way things do go.
Others frequently become, “that so and so!”

Of course, we are concerned with our own affairs.
Only natural to be consumed with our own cares.
But, never-the-less, we could broaden out.
Not everyone else is a fool or a lout!
Although, it could be said, so many are.
Down to excessive dialogue. Blah, Blah, Blah.

So it’s all about Me and My,
Myself I don’t really do it, do I?
Probably I do, it would be difficult not,
In fact if they didn’t, they’d have lost the plot!
A celebrity was interviewed on a T.V. show.
Under prolonged cross examination on the go,
She came out with, “That’s enough about me,”
“Let’s talk about you now, if you are free.”
“So, what do you, now, think about ME?”

I think; I want; I know all about,
“Me-ism, it’s enough to make one shout!
Let’s think of others, and it’s about time too.
How about opening the door nicely. “After you”.
And when one is inevitably caught in a queue,
How about refraining from getting in a stew,
And step back, to allow others through.
An exception, perhaps, could be in the loo.
Where dictates of nature may be urgent in kind.
Failure to accommodate these may blow your mind.

To sum it all up, this pronoun perpendicular,
(Avoiding unnecessary trips on the funicular).
Let’s pause, with due diligence particular,
To consider the ins and outs of the matter,
Thinking most carefully, just how we natter.
Keep the usage of the perpendicular pronoun to a minimum.
Such as in the following. “When’s dinner mum?”

pronoun.png

Sort:  

Another excellent poem. I love the way it flows and once again you drive home a brilliant point of trying to put others before ourselves which we need so much more of in this world.

Really good comment. Thank you.

This post has received a 31.25% upvote from @blockgatorsarmy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38