BEASTLY TALES - THE EXPLORER

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

THE EXPLORER


Explorers of old were both brave and bold,
Explorers of territory both hot and cold.
Darkest Africa was a favourite spot,
The source of the Nile involved quite a lot.
Not just one Nile for there were two.
We have both the White Nile and the Blue.
This challenge was undertaken by Livingstone,
For whom, lengthy forced marches were regularly prone.
The Antarctic was another spot where explorers were chilled to the bone.
Admundsen, Scott and Mawson went there,
Perilous voyages determined to dare.
Some died in the attempt to find the South Pole,
Others were actually able to achieve their goal.


Most countries have their explorers in history,
Determined to uncover geographical mystery.
One only has to study and look,
In amazement at the voyages of Captain Cook.
It all went reasonably well for a voyage or two,
And then, in Hawaii, his good fortune he blew.
Over an argument about a missing ship’s cutter,
The Hawaiians attacked in flurry and flutter.

Space exploration came along pretty soon,
In next to no time man walked on the moon.
And let us not forget about under the sea,
Another area humans were not designed to be.
Under the sea, under the earth,
Caving involves exploration under the turf.

Algernon Limpid, an explorer, determined to be,
He thought, “What can I explore, space, land or sea?”
“I know! I’ll explore my emotional feelings”
“And why certain ladies cause me sensual reelings”.
“I’ll explore why girls that I like”,
“More often than not tell me, “go take a hike!””
“Conversely, girls that are attracted to me”,
“Seem to affect me negatively”.
“Is it all about the ‘birds and the bees’?”
“Why when they see me, do most girls just freeze?”
“It is all just an enigma, to be sure”,
“Love can be a riddle, a tantalizing lure”.

Algernon wanted a date with Deidre McClure.
But she said, “No thanks I’m not at all sure”,
“You seem to be unattractive to me”.
“In fact when I see you I just want to flee”.
“But even more than that, you are ugly, boring and decidedly fat!”
“Now I ask you,” said Algernon, quite aggrieved,
“Is that at all nice?” He sounded slightly peeved.
“If this is what exploring is all about”,
“I’ll go to the pub and wait for a shout.”
“Yes, someone kind to “shout” me a drink”.
“That’s the type of exploring for me I think!”

the explorer.png

Sort:  

“If this is what exploring is all about”,
“I’ll go to the pub and wait for a shout.”

this is the spot i enjoyed the most!!

Poor Algernon can not explore the feelings of women, but with two or three pints of beer we arrive on the moon. Great Richard !

Thanks, great comment.

This is really fun to read, my imagination works well as I jump from each line to the next.
Great! I will surely follow your posts!

Thank you for your comment and support.

Really refreshing post...
Full of inspirations & insights...

Thanks for sharing & Have a great day, dear @beastlybanter...😀☕❤

The pub would be safer than exploring emotional feelings. Super clever and funny once again.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks.

“Yes, someone kind to “shout” me a drink”.
“That’s the type of exploring for me I think!”
Nice one post, after all Love is not by force.

NICE post...steem on

Join Coinbase and get $10 (€8) of free Bitcoin when you first buy or sell $100 (€86) of digital currency.
https://www.coinbase.com/join

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53