BEASTLY TALES - SOUR GRAPES

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

SOUR GRAPES

You, Davis Plum, teach a very poor trick.
With your habitual manner of being so acerbic.
Bitterness of speech, sourness of manner,
What you do need, is a happifying banner.
A needle in the arm, an instant lift,
A pep pill of charm, if you get my drift.
You need the friendship, of a jolly good chum.
Or, perhaps, all you need is a kick in the bum!

“Has life dealt me a most bitter pill?”
“Probably, because I most often feel ill.”
“Never-the-less, apart from being broke,”
“I’m fee, at least, unlike a pig in a poke.”
“I’m free to sit, all day, staring at the sky.”
“In fact, I could sit here, staring, ‘til the day I die.”
“But, the need to eat, and go to the loo,”
“Means that such a course, I’m unlikely to pursue!”

Said Davis Plum, in a moment of pique.
“It’s true love that I probably do seek.”
“But ladies seem unimpressed with my acerbic manner.”
“Perhaps I should lighten up, not chuck in the spanner!”
One day, at last, he met a lady fair,
She walked and talked so softly, she seemed to float on air.
“I’ve been searching for someone to send me over the moon,”
“We can dwell together, until we, each, look like a prune!”
So broke, but happy, for decades they did dwell,
Until one of them died, and then began to smell!
The survivor then sat staring at the sky.
Wondering how long it would be, before he too, would die.
At last that survivor did fall off their perch.
No further need for them, in daily routine to lurch!
So we should each try to be happy with our lot.
Even when surrounded by many a stupid sot.

sour grapes.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99