Yesterday's acrylic pour 🎨

in #art6 years ago

20190223_095946.jpg

That 👆 is a photo of one of my pours yesterday.

Let me back track.
Here's what went down yesterday arvo.

20190222_121519.jpg

I needed more pre poured canvases and decided to do 3 using the same colours.

The thing that takes the longest, for me anyway, is the mixing of colours and getting that "warm honey" consistency. I figured I'd save myself time and do 3 in one go.

That said, the pour itself took longer than usual because I kept adding paint on to get a better design and in the end it didn't work out anyway.... Ohh the joys of acrylic pouring.

The initial pour

20190222_135021.jpg

There really wasn't anything wrong with the initial pour. Sure there were white canvas showing in some spots but it wasn't that bad. But as the paint moves and dries you get a glimpse of the final result and I wasn't feeling it.

In hindsight I should have had black canvases prepped for black pours ~ that would have saved me a lot of time.

After more paint & messing around

20190222_135551.jpg

Luckily I had heaps of paint left over and I was able to play around a bit until I was reasonably happy with what I had.

Here's the close ups.

One shot in normal light and one with the lamp on.

Let me know if you can see the metallic shimmer! I'm writing this on my phone and it's not that noticable.

PicsArt_02-22-02.05.52.png

PicsArt_02-22-02.08.33.png

PicsArt_02-22-02.09.20.png

How they look this morning.

Yep, they always look better when its fresh and wet. This is one of those things about acrylic pouring that I hate ~ the loss of vibrancy.

20190223_095310.jpg

And this... 🙈

This has happened many times on the canvas panels and I was expecting it considering the amount of paint I had on it plus how long it took to dry.

What amazes me is the one on the left that's pretty straight.

20190223_095332.jpg

Remember that pic I started off with?
That's it now on the bottom right hand side.

You can kinda see the composition has changed completely thanks to the bow that pooled all the paint in the middle.

20190223_105048.jpg

The bowing is fine. The canvas bends and can be straightened out. Even the new design is fine cos I'll be adding a mandala over it anyway.

Over all I think it went well! I'm keen to see how it looks with a mandala, wondering if the metallic sheen will come through and add that lil bit of bling.

Guess I'll find out in a couple of days!

Have a great weekend everyone!!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

I'm on my phone too, but think I can see the shimmer? I keep seeing those DIY videos, where they take a simple piece of wood, and turn it into a cool looking granite-like counter..

Whatever; your stuff looks cool like I said. Plus, you're adding the mandala on as well, so that will help you get a more "finished" effect yeah?

I've never done anything like this; do you have different results depending on weather or time of day? Think of it like Bob Ross did.... "happy little accident"

Oh and yeah...my footer is awesome yeah!?! I know people, that know.... well...people :)

wesphilbin_red.png

A lovely effect @bearone, worth the process and I love the colours.

Will have to take your word on the "not feeling it", they all looked great to me at all stages XD

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.683 which ranks you at #1605 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81