You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2019

in #art6 years ago

Oh My Gosh! I say this all the time to myself.. "Self, lets find the motivation or inspiration" to get this painting finished, get this idea on canvas, this project finished, this task started.. yada yada. At the end of it, I realize I hate procrastination more than the task its self.

As far as being an artist myself, I feel ya when it comes to progress pictures. I have to remember sometimes to get them. Often I find myself so into my creativity frame of mind.. chilling to music and painting.. that I totally forget to take them. I kick myself because that's what people like to see. Recently I've been better at getting them and incorporating them into my posts. Seeing progress pictures, for me, opens up a dialogue and helps me improve as an artist. I can pick up on little things other artists do and possible build on my skill set. For example, today I saw that you painted your canvas black first.. This I want to try. I never really thought about painting the whole thing a dark color first and working from there.. hmmmm good idea @m31!

I recently.. within the last 8 months.. joined steemit in order to get to know other artists. I have found that there is so much more to offer. So happy a few have not abandoned posting. Best wishes with your art, your flow of creativity and not procrastinating.. lol. I'll have to check out 'An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth' too. sounds oddly interesting :-)

Sort:  

Absolutely. When I am stuck at the procrastination phase I can feel the time slipping like sand through fingers and anxiety building up, frustration building up and it is so unnecessary. I hate it and yet it keeps happening from time to time.

I think this actually is the first one with progress pictures for me. What I struggle with them is like you said, that it takes extra effort to remember to take them and also stops or pauses the process of creating as well and also when it comes to photography I really enjoy natural lighting, but most of the time when I paint it is night time xD So then the progress shots would have the yellow bleh lighting that messes up the colors and things and I hate it.

It is certainly very interesting to see the progress or process indeed to learn different techniques or ways to experiment and play with. You got at a great point there that it helps us to grow and improve. I know some artists hide their process on purpose. Trademark secrets and stuff which sometimes is understandable as well, but how fascinating it is to sometimes be able to peek in their worlds and brain?

Thank you so, so much1 Same to you too and Happy New Year! :) Hope to see you around on the chain!

Trade secrets when it comes to art is a strange concept for me.. but I can understand i suppose.

I have recently been painting at night as well and want to get the progress shots. I usually hang or affix my art on a wall. Set up two lights(if possible something that directs light toward art not scattered around room), preferably soft white bulb (100w), equal distant out from wall and from art piece (maybe 45 degree angle from piece, try to make a perfect triangle). stand away from art work and take photo (no flash). This will give you best chance for a photo that looks as if it was taken in natural sunlight. Two lamps reduce the chance for shadowing. It's not perfect, but this works for me most of the time if I am shooting at night.

Worth a try maybe. Or disregard my unsolicited advice. I don't know what I am doing half the time anyhow. ;-P

My most recent post I shot the final pic at night using this method. Oh and forgot to mention.. I love including progress shots, but man does it take time to put that all together. ugggg.. but worth it if you even get a few votes or some appreciated feed back. That makes it worth all the invested time.

Sorry for the cheesy depiction and the silly cat drawing on the wall.. I was rushing it..lol

Untitled.png

Good luck @M31!! See you around the chain! :-D

Disregard this awesome advice? Are you crazy? Ahaha! Thank you! I think it is brilliant and most definitely helpful for creatures of the night such as myself. I should definitely upgrade my equipment with these lamps for max efficiency because night time really has always been my most creative time when it comes to painting or other artsy stuff.

Ahaha, the drawing cracked me up! Thank you again! ^^

No problem. :-D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31