A Pencil drawing in 15 minutessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Today’s lunchtime exercise…

Is a pencil drawing of a tree and minimal landscape. I wanted to limit myself to a 15 minute period. So is it a little sloppy? Yes. Is it a Brilliant work of art? I don’t think so. Did I have fun doing it? Absolutely!

The finished drawing..

Here we have the finished piece of art and my subject which I took a photo of earlier before starting the sketch.

DD782A2E-7DE5-497A-BFBD-086DE3BAE3E9.jpeg

I am here sitting in my truck ...

Eating my lunch. I’m looking around me and I see this tree sitting by itself in the lawn. It’s lost all of its leaves and they have since blown away in the heavy autumn winds we had a few days ago. I figured this would be a good subject for a quick 15 minute drawing session. I forgot I don’t have any pencils in my truck, but I eventually found one tucked between the seat and the center consul. It must have fallen down there and Had been sitting there for years. It’s still worked OK, after I lightly shaved the end with a utility knife. The eraser no longer works because it has dry rotted and is hard as a rock. So I wouldn’t be using that, But that’s OK because it’s only an exercise to help keep me artistically active until I can actually draw something worthwhile. It helps me relax a little on my lunch break so that’s the plus side!

I did remember to take a few progress shots…

So I will add them in below. As I said, I started off with a rather scruffy like pencil and a piece of 8 1/2 x 11 white stock printing paper folded in half.

A101FFFD-4C40-45DD-AC81-EB34235437B6.jpeg

Then I laid out the basic lines and form. After that point I just continued to reference my subject and quickly sketching the rest before the time ran out.

E4946079-1A4A-4777-9645-5F0E6B8675A8.jpeg

38D0600E-6649-486B-B5A0-C6107C20F478.jpeg

229C9516-E9B7-4BEF-A33B-02CA40BCB084.jpeg

Time Was running out so I put in the last few details and darkened up some areas creating shadows. I did not have enough time to put too much tonal value in. So this is the finished piece…

3A398161-76F5-4366-A4AE-4EF755DD7332.jpeg

I Went ahead and combined all the photos to give you an overall shot of the process..

0346A22E-1453-42ED-B26F-592E0E85C503.jpeg

Lunch is over ..

I must return to the grind. My head is clear, my belly is full, and I am ready to get back to work and be productive. I appreciate your attention and your support! I can’t wait to be creative again soon. Until then have a great afternoon/evening/morning, wherever you are in your day. Talk to you soon!

331C08BF-2A3A-4732-8343-C0FD5F50F6DB.jpeg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller

Sort:  

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

http://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Visit our discord at: https://discordapp.com/channels/523971711733858364/523971711733858366

Bitcoin MYK
admin
Register - Bitcoin MYK
This post earned 25 BTCMYK

It would take hours lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can't even do that in an hour.

I bet you could surprise yourself. Thanks for checking out my post! 😊

I wish I am good as you. I can't even draw something like this.

I truly believe that everyone is artistic in their own way. I bet if you tried, you’d be surprised. Thanks for swinging by my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66