Complete Step by Step tutorial- How To Draw David Ortiz

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi today I've decided to make a post to show you guys my process for creating portraits.


                              What you will need 

IMG_7855.JPG

When you start a portrait the fine details can be overwhelming and may scare you off ever even trying. My goal here is to break down my methods and make it all seem more practical. A key thing to remember is angles are extremely important if you can nail those the likeness of the picture will start to fall into place.There is obviously no one way of doing any of this. This is my process and I myself am forever still learning. If you know of a simpler better way of doing any of this please let me know in the comments. To get started with a portrait I make place holders by laying down simple shapes.

IMG_7858.JPG

Nothing to detailed just yet none of these lines are etched in stone either rather just guide lines for the details to be drawn over I suggest using a very light pencil so you don't make a mess if you need to erase.

IMG_7879.JPG

In order to get proportions and placement right think of where lines are in relation to each other. look how the bottom of the ear is placed just below the bottom of the lip. Where these two lines of the shirt meet are just slightly right of the center of the portrait. Take a ruler or any straight edge up to tour reference image and find out where lines match up this will help increase likeness and portrait accuracy.

IMG_7883.JPG

I find separating the darkest shades first useful, then start adding finer shades later and distinguishing their separation.

IMG_7887.JPG

Now lets start to add some line weight to the details on the face. look at your reference image and note where the darkest lines are and start to sketch them in.

IMG_7890.JPG

keep adding darker shades in to add depth.

IMG_7899.JPG
you can now start adding in some facial hair. do this by simple making small ticks all over the area for the hair. Make sure the lines on the chin strap are darker then the rest of the facial hair. once you have a complete section, use your shader to darken up the area and then make small ticks again over that.

Finish it up by continuing to distinguish the variations in shades.

AAEAAQAAAAAAAATxAAAAJDhiNzI5MzE1LTJlNGYtNGQxNi05Y2RlLWQ5YTFlOTFhNTVkNA.jpg
Send a up-vote my way if you liked this and would like to see more.
If you have requests for possible future drawings let me know in the comments.


I hope you guys enjoyed the tutorial!

Barry F Samways

Sort:  

Very Nice Drawing! Deep in my heart i always knew I needed a step by step guide on how to draw BIG PAPI so thank you for that as well! Steem ON!

Thanks and you are so very welcome my friend. keep checking my page more tutorials to come

Followed for sure! Keep em coming!

working on one at this very moment! thanks for supporting me on here

@barrysamways awesome post! I love it so much I upvoted it full power and included it in my upvotable day 2!

@jerrybanfield OMG Jerry you have no idea how happy you just made me! You know your youtube videos are originally what got me interested in Steem in the first place. I have invested a huge amount of time into steemit for about a week now and was only getting a couple cents here and there. For this post particularly it took me days to make. I believe once more people get to your level of success then everyone can start to benefit more for there efforts. Keep up your amazing youtube and steemit videos I love everything you are doing. hopefully soon I will be able to up vote you more generous amounts, Cheers my friend.

wow amazing skills you have there. i have to practice Portraits too. thx for the tutorial!

thanks so much! Your very welcome buddy. Even if you learned one thing here that sticks that means I have done my job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44