Stream of consciousness art project #1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

seemit-1.jpg

The concept

I wanted to release my train of thought onto paper, through one consistent stream of consciousness.

The process

In an attempt to capture each thought as it was created I decided to tape over the sketch/section thereby creating a new layer which (in my mind) represents a thought. I used compressed charcoal sticks, a ruler, painters tape, exacto knife, and my hands.
As I created the piece layer by layer the canvas was eventually encompassed with tape, making it impossible to discern what the end piece actually looks like.

To help convey the process, here is a gif I made "unwrapping" the final:
Stream of consciousness
I won't lie removing the tape gave me a feeling very similar to unwrapping a package on Christmas morning.

The finished product

Stream of consciousness - 36"x 24" Charcoal by Wilfred

Fib18.jpg

This is just the first in what I hope to be 30 pieces of varying sizes. My next one is ~5.5' x 4'

I'll be updating with my other project as they are created.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64