Can originality ever be exhausted?

in #art5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I'm going to really contradict with the answers here already. Before I start off with my answer I would really like to appreciate your nice question. I think there is definitely a fair chance for originality to get exhausted. I have seen this happening on me as well. People might say that if you are losing your skills then that can't really be your originality but some acquired skills maybe. But I do believe that when priorities in life changes, our originality and creativity also keeps changing and get channeled towards a different direction. 

Maybe when our area of interest is changing our originality and creativity can also change. I have noticed this happening several times. I would like to compare some of the key qualities that I had to justify how I felt this exhaustion. 

I used to be an artist

During my young age, I used to be a good artist. I was capable of drawing anything that I see. I was not good at my studies but if you give me a picture and ask me to replicate it, I was able to draw the picture precisely. I was thinking that it was my original character or skill. But later when I lost touch, I realized that the skill was continuously fading away. Today if you ask me to sit and draw a picture, I would stammer and maybe the outcome will be horrible. I did give a try few months ago and as expected I was not able to get a good outcome from it. The reason could be because of lack of practice. As I grew up, my area of interest went in a different direction and I'm no longer an artist now. 

Communicating in a language

Here again I saw some contradiction. When I was studying college I was quite fluent on few regional languages and I was also about to communicate very well in English. The reason was because I had lots of opportunities there to talk regularly with my friends there. But if you ask me to talk fluently in regional languages that I used be fluent once, I will definitely stammer. Today when I visit the places where these languages are spoken, I find it very difficult to speak back. All I can do now is just understand what they are speaking but responding back becomes a real pain today. The only language that is still intact is English and the reason is because I'm practicing it by talking every day. I get enough opportunity to retain the speaking skills. But even there if I take a break from speaking English, I will definitely see a big difference. 

Some people can say that both the skills that I have mentioned above are not natural skills rather acquired skills. But I feel the situation is really same for even the natural skills as well. The originality will retain only if it is taken in the right path. If it is not practiced well or if it is not given enough weightage, I would say that it will really get exhausted based on the priorities and area of interest we have in our life. Our priorities keeps changing and the experiences also keeps changing based on the priority. At the same time some people without any fair skills during birth also gain some good skills in their life and show their originality several times. They nicely grab the opportunity they get to exhibit their originality. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Hi @bala41288!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.948 which ranks you at #10835 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #202.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @bala41288, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99