GRAFFIT-IT : An art project in the villages of Spain

in #art6 years ago (edited)

P_20150730_134433.jpg

Hello Steemians,

I would like to share with you one of the art projects that I've been doing for 4 years. This one is a graffiti project that took place in a village in Malaga, Spain. Even though the name of the project is "Graffit-it" I rather would like to say that it was a mural art project as we weren't applying lots of graffiti techniques.

In the summer of 2015, this project is carried out with the help of the townhall in my leadership. In total we were 8 people form France, Italy, Russia, Germany, Estonia and Turkey between 17 to 28 years old. The town hall gave us a huge wall, about 25 to 3 meters, in the local pool and asked us to fill it with water elements. We weren't all professionals, half of us were experienced and the other half didn't have any idea.

At the beginning we didn't know how to share the wall. Dividing the wall in to eight part and work seperately? Work all together on a huge design? So we decided to do both of them, make a huge design which is formed by different parts: an underwater landscape with lots of creatures and objects.

All together we made a woking plan. We wrote down the elements that we would like to use. Everyone chose the one that she/he would like to work on.

Finally the chosen elements were submarine, mermaid, staircase, fishes, octopus, medusa and some underwater plants. While we were working on the sketches, the paints that we ordered arrived: 15 liters of dark blue, 15 liters of white, 10 liters of yellow, 10 liters of black and 5 liters of red bucket exterior acrylic paint and 30 cans of spray.

P_20150725_120442.jpg

After working on the sketches for two days we made some quick drawings on the wall and just after that we start covering the wall with dark blue, light blue and light yellow.

As it was the month of august we couldn't work after 1 pm so we work starting to work at 7 am in the morning.

P_20150727_104955.jpg

I was in charge of the medusa but it was quite complicated to work on the upper part of the wall. And also I think I chose a very complicated body position for my medusa so it took me a long time to set her arms.

P_20150730_112337.jpg

Here you can see the results of the project.

P_20150730_134416.jpg

(Of course the wall would be incomplete without the YELLOW SUBMARINE. :)

P_20150730_134602.jpg

P_20150731_201034.jpg

P_20150730_134501.jpg

P_20150729_142904.jpg

In the end it was an interesting project, we were all from different backgrounds and cultures and each of us were trying to apply hers/his own style to wall avoiding to break the integrity. I don't know how much we managed to achieve this but in the end of the day we were all proud of the result.

After this, we had even a more professional one that we implemented this year. I will share the details in my future posts.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Woow! This is an amazing project!!! I encourage you to do more! There is nothing more beautiful than a nice grafits or murals around the city walls!! Congratulations, this is awesome! You did a great job, you all nations did 😊💪 I am really honestly waiting for more your works like this, I like it a lot!! 🤗❤

Thank you very much! :) I am so motivated for the next summers projects. I will be sharing the other graffiti projects that we did too. :)

This is awesome work!! Love what I am seeing, your murals are very good!

Check out this NW graffiti when you can by ANIMA.

The cloud work is my favorite part!

https://steemit.com/graffiti/@blackbook/anima-graffiti-masterpiece#comments

Thank you very much! I checked the link, yes it looks very nice, i also liked the clouds. I wish there would be much more around like this :)

It looks fantastic! Public art is amazing when it's well organised

Thank you very much. Well, the organisation part was not very successful, sometimes even a disaster but the result was good:)

Right on! I would love to see something like that down by our local park. I love the bright color palette. Hopefully it will be there for years to come and inspire young minds to aspire to great things. Great job and great post! Cheers!

Thank you very much. I don't know if it's still there after 3 years but if one day I will have chance to visit the places that we made those projects, I will post the photos.

Excellent! Good luck!

Wow awesome, love the yellow submarine in there! lol I really want to learn how to use spraypaint this summer, I think I cold create some pretty spectacular mandala murals

In this years project some participants made some mandalas but they used brushes and exterior acrylics mostly. Mandalas are amazing on the murals, I believe that your art would be stunning on a huge wall. :)

I look forward to trying it!

Beautiful work! I think it's the perfect kind of mural for the location.
Also love that you included the Yellow Submarine in there, it's one of my very favorite animated movies and Beatles albums.
Thanks for sharing and keep on doing great things with your skills and artwork!

Thank you so much! Thanks to you for supporting. I really like yellow submarine too and it fits on the design so well! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52