Vector Artwork #3 - Puppy

in #art6 years ago (edited)


To make this vector artwork, I used the tracing method. In this method, a representation or an image is used as a guide in creating the structure of the vector image. In this vector artwork, I will be tracing a puppy. The image used as a guide is taken from pixabay.com, it is free to be used since it is released with CC0 Creative Commons which is free for commercial use and no attribution is required.


Image source: pixabay.com


So to start, I imported the image that I will be using as a guide in Adobe Illustrator CC 2019.


Then, to start tracing the details, I had lowered the opacity of the guide image first then I locked its layer so that I would not have any trouble running with it when I start tracing.


Using a pen tool, I traced the details in order to achieve my desired vector figure. Set the pen tool to no fill and add a 1pt stroke so that you will see your progress in tracing. The more details you trace, the more it looks better after you apply colors to it.


To apply colors to your traced vector figure, I used the live paint bucket tool. Bring back the opacity of your guide image so that you will get the exact colors. After that, simply select all the traced vector lines, then press the letter "K" in your keyboard (shortcut for the paint bucket tool), to select the desired colors from the guide image use the "Alt key" then click to the part on which you want the color to be applied.


After I had successfully applied color to the figure, I removed the 1 pt stroke, then I added a simple background for the figure. This is the finished product of the figure that I had traced and made into a vector art.


Tools Used: In creating my work, I mainly used Adobe Illustrator CC 2019 for tracing the vector art as it produces vector outputs and not pixel based like Adobe Photoshop.


Download: My vector artwork is free to use. If you would like to download or use it for commercial use, feel free to download it on the link provided below.



Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://creativecebuano.xyz/2018/11/vector-artwork-3-puppy
Sort:  

Hi @baa.steemit. Congratulations!

You've been featured by @steemph.cebu on our Daily Feature of Authors #29. You've chosen as the top best blogs of this day. With that, you've enjoyed the benefits for being featured.

Continue to post more quality content having #cebu & #philippines as part of your tags.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Baa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40