Sea of Bones.

in #art6 years ago

steemit-cov.jpg


"Sea of Bones" is my latest painting and is part of a larger project which I can't say much about yet!
I'm not gonna speak about the image as I think it speaks for itself, but you can see some of my initial ideas and the color variations I went through.


pirate_1b.jpg


pirate_2.jpg
detail


These are some of the first sketches I did while trying to figure out the scene and the pirate character.
pirate_@.jpgpirate_3.jpg
pirate_4.jpg
pirate_6.jpg
pirate_7.jpg
Here I'm thinking about the composition of the image. They are very rough scribbles but really help to quickly figure out what works.
pirate_5.jpg
These are the two final comps and I decided to go with the vertical one as it better captured that ominous feeling I was looking for.
pirate1.jpg
pirate2.jpg


Finaly, before starting the painting I made 4 quick color comps to figure out my colors.
I went with the version 1 with the sky from version 4.
color_comps_1.jpg
color_comps_2.jpg


Thanks for looking!

cc a nc sa.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Love your work so much @azbeen <3 Your character designs and colours always never cease to capture that magical feeling of adventures, childhood freedom, and gorgeous honesty. I love this post so much, it is always absolutely a treat to see the process behind your pieces and your sketches <3

Aww.. thanks for the kind words. Made my day!

UPDATE: Hi @azbeen this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20181005t225901150z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi @azbeen. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50