My life in show: every Santa and Snow Maiden are created by someonesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)
 Santa Claus have to fly with the speed of sound from Lapland to bring presents to all the people in the world. Therefore, someone must help him with this challenge.
 Once I also was able to take part in this celebration of life. Specifically I designed an outer look of Santa Claus and Snow Maiden, which were brought to life by my friends, artists from Novosibirsk show group "Speak Fire".



 The specific of the project was the fact that in order to emphasize the mystical nature of fantastic characters, we decided to make them 3 meters high. The artists had to walk on stilts, and I had to dress them up and not get tangled while sewing the endless fabric's yardage.
 It was not the first time when I sewed costumes for stilt-walkers , but it was the most extensive project in quantity of materials which I used. Each suit required more than 30 meters of fabric. Even to cut out the textile of such dimensions at home — a story of its own — no cutting table would be big enough. Anyway I never had it, so I was no stranger.







 It was necessary to create not only a decorative costume, but also to make it warm for performances outdoor in Siberian cold weather. Given that I wanted to avoid the look of thick sheepskin coats. Modern German insulation material came to the aid, which at thickness of just half a centimeter provides insulation equal to 5-7 centimeters of ordinary syntepon. So I was able to create in essence a thin, tight-fitting coats (which I particularly wanted to achieve in Snow Maiden costume), in which, as the guys later complained, sometimes it was rather hot.











  I decided not to use red color for Santa, because I was more inspired by Russian character Grandfather Frost, who often wears blue. Three colors of brocade available in palette which I needed, light blue, navy and silver, allowed me to create pattern on the coats, using patchwork technique.





 It would seem that it is only two clothes, but I needed 2 weeks for realisation of the plan. My friend Anna, the project manager of "Speak Fire", helped me to supplement costumes with hats and gloves.
 After that, our Santa and Snow Maiden went to the world to fill adults and kids with positive emotions!


On photos: artists of show-group "Speak fire"
Sort:  

Very cool! 🖒☆☆☆☆☆😎

Beautiful outfits, you’ve done a remarkable design job!

Santa told me he wouldn’t mind ordering his working clothes from you for the next holiday season! ;)

:D
Thanks a lot! I really happy to read it )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40