My art: sasangasana, the rabbit pose in yoga

in #art8 years ago (edited)


 This year marks exactly 10 years since I started practicing yoga. I remember my first experience very well. It was early morning on January 7th after one of my transcendental nights...

 At night I had an experience of immersion in the depths of my psyche and in the morning my body started to feel discomfort: the psychic energy, moving in the body could not come into balance and created a sense of hypertonia. I moved spontaneously, changing position of the body, trying to find a pose in which it would be possible to experience complete relaxation. At some point the pose was found. And I froze in this position in enjoyment. The energy in the body became smooth, everything was in balance.

 I did not know anything about yoga then. But from the back of my mind a thought came to me that what I'm doing seems to be somewhat like yoga. I got interested with this discovery. And the next day I started to learn about yoga from books, and soon I found myself teachers.

 The illustration that I painted in mixed technique (oil plus liner pen) demonstrates sasankasana or hare posture. It is the position that I was curled up in that morning. It was how I started my yoga. And it also started my series of illustrations dedicated to yoga. The amazing thing is that when I was drawing this picture, I did not put those facts together and recognised this coincidence only much later. After all, our consciousness works wonders.

 This series is expected to contain 11 more illustrations, covering a variety of yoga postures, and I hope I will finish it someday :)

 Enjoy!

Sort:  

Nice: I hurt my back during Yoga 101. Need to improve my core I guess

Contrary to popular belief yoga may be highly traumatic. It should be very gentle to yourself. When I began to study yoga with my teacher, for a long time he didn't give me difficult asanas, and my first yoga with him reminds dynamic exercises for children ) There were no static deep poses... It was necessary for preparing joints and muscles...

I do the pose at the end of stretch. Yes, it helps my body relax. Nice painting again :)

Beautiful artwork! Looking forward to more paintings from this series. :)

Thanks! I appreciate your words :)

This is beautiful upvoted and follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67