Crafts - Christmas Scratchcard Postcards

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It's a small hobby of mine to handmake postcards and try to make them a little more interesting or perhaps, even interactive. I've been toying with the idea of a scratchcard postcard for a while now and since Christmas is around the corner I knuckled down to make something! I initially planned something more complex, quickly realised that it would take too long, and promptly simplified the design.

Here's a quick tutorial of how I did it:

Started with cutting a simple template for the card design using a thick card I removed from the back of an unwanted notebook.



Using some contact paper I found in the cupboard, I traced the stencils to be cut later on. These are gonna be the parts that get 'scratchcard-ed'.



Then I stuck it down as well as I could and painted it over with a mixture of acrylic paint and dishwashing liquid. I used 2 parts of acrylic to 1 part of dishwashing liquid so it would be less runny.

Painted several layers over it to make it more opaque. Make sure it's thoroughly dry before painting the next layer!



Using this stencil, I wrote my Christmas greetings on 4x6 plain card stock.




Then, using the triangle template to mark out the borders, I started dotting colours with a q-tip.



While waiting for the scratchcard paint to dry, I also painted in the star at the top. Once the paint dried, I cut the shapes out accordingly and proceeded to stick them onto the Christmas greetings.



Voila!



Now all you need is to send it out to your friends!
I've got a couple of extra cards that I'll be happy to send to anyone anywhere. Let me know if you'd like one! (:


Find me over @avocadeuxshake!

Sort:  

Great work!! These postcards look amazing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50