Art Stage Singapore - Photoblog Part II

in #art7 years ago

Art Stage Singapore is an annual three-day contemporary arts exhibition featuring more than 120 exhibitors from 27 countries, majority of which are from the Asia Pacific. I recently shared some photos of the exhibition here. Do check it out!

Based on my memory, there seemed to be more exciting/interactive pieces in the previous installment of Art Stage Singapore. That's not to say that this year's didn't have any interesting pieces. Here are more photos from the fair!


This is a piece by Philippines-based artist Daniel Dela Cruz called Existence is Elsewhere. Three metallic figures holding each other by the hand with the one on the left looking across the distance, as if searching for someone at the other end.

As it turns out, there is someone at the other end! This is actually a two-piece installation - at the other end of the gallery stands a lone figure on the bridge. You can see a clearer version of it here.


This impressive metal lion here was made out of automobile scrap parts by Bangalore artist Ravi Chandra. The likeness and level of detail is amazing.


Porcelain's striking white and blue makes it easily identifiable, but porcelain pieces rarely come in such whimsical forms. This piece called Forms that Reveal by Harumi Nakashima is entirely handbuilt, which is all the more impressive since porcelain is, according to what I've read, extremely difficult to manipulate free-hand. The artist himself is quite the mystery - he has zero online presence and his reputation is based solely on his exquisite works.


This abstract stoneware piece, Kai, by ceramic artist Kanjiro Moriyama is stunning. I love the curves and the movement of this piece and it awes me at how artists like Moriyama conjure them. When I see pieces like this I only wish I had the capacity to surround myself with such beauty. You can see more of Moriyama's creations here.


While everyone's contemplating art, sometimes the art does the viewing too. Found this too cute. I didn't get the artist's name, unfortunately.


Sometimes art is meant to challenge beliefs or to question actions. Weapons for the Citizen, by Thai artist Anon Pairot is one such piece. This particular one questions the growing importance of Thailand's military spending at the expense of social aspects such as education and healthcare.


On a lighter note, I was attracted to the clean red, black, and white lines, and couldn't help but take this quick shot when I walked past the Fuji Gallery.


As I reached the end of my wandering about the galleries, I chanced upon these two gentlemen who were heavily engaged in a game of chess. Was most amused at the right gent's choice of jacket - it's certainly not an every day fashion piece!

Style aside, the chess pieces themselves were exquisitely made <3 If not for the lack of space and money, I'd be collecting chess sets from all corners of the world. So. Pretty.

Needless to say, I'm already looking forward to next year's exhibition, just to find the handful of pieces that make me googly-eyed and my heart want.


***
Enjoyed it?
Follow me @avocadeuxshake for more! (:

Sort:  

Wonderful pieces of art e beautiful pics (my heart want all the artworks in the post, especially the Forms that Reveal by Harumi Nakashima) ! Thanks so much for share it ^_^

Very glad you enjoyed it @silviabeneforti :D

Good post and the art on display is great! :)

Thank you! I really enjoyed walking around and checking the pieces out that day ((:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65