Ovarian painsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

This has been an endeavor from hell. First of the topic for Trial by Comics was Star Wars … which with no shame I admit I never got into. If that gets me banned from the g33k club – so be it! Star Wars are meh!

Not knowing much of the characters (beside the obvious which left my ovaries shriveled) I started with intensive googling. I found Maz Kanata. Pirates are cool in my book and I wanted the whole thing to be more comic like. After 30 min of dreaded work I decided I am not feeling it (my ovaries were shrinking again).

It took two days to gather my mojo and I sat behind the tablet again and decided to just do my thing. I won’t lie … I am not a saver. Do you know what happens to people who do not obsessively save their drawing progress? I am pretty sure you guessed. The program crashes leaving you with 0 work saved. After 3 hours of intensive doodling … everything gone.

You should have seen my face (and my ovaries) moving through all the five stages of grief. Priceless. I have just reached acceptance when a hint popped in my inbox (ty x 1 billion @steemitadventure). The drawing was in the recovery files of the program.

There is still a few things I would change, but I am so done with this. My mind (and ovaries) can’t take it no more.

maz.png

The ear worm keeping me company while doing this.

Sort:  

I lost 10 years of my data once. It's rough. Thinking about it even now still really burns me. I wouldn't wish that on anyone. The creation above is wonderful! She's definitely one of my favorite characters from the new movies.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

No thanks needed! @atropy is a friend from my perspective. I wish it were easier to support her and her wonderful creations more!

I was in fully panic mode for a few...I almost cried ffs. :D I seriously went through all the 5 stages...like I lost an actual person....I cant imagine losing 10 years of data!!!!! Was so mad at myself for not saving as I go...ofc i made a promisse to myself I will do it from now on....lets hope I keep it up this time.

From a brother and friend @grow-pro, my sister, and may it give you solace:

Quote from a professor to me, he said "an artist is not a true artist until he can create his best work, step back and burn it. Without the feeling of loss. Because a true artist will know that if it can be done once, it can be done a hundred more times"
His name was professor 'Geeth'

Love it. Looks like great design for a bobble head figure.

Thanks for sharing this. She is one of my favorites in the recent Star Wars movie. How long did it take you to draw it so beautifully?

In total? I think this took about 5 hours....and ty!

I'm a compulsive saver - I've lost too much to computer crashes not to be. When I'm working at the typewriter I have to stop myself from trying to type <CTRL^S> every three lines.

I never got into Star Wars either - and I love Sci-fi! So don't feel bad.

But I don't understand what's happening to your ovaries. It sounds serious. Should we be worried?

Lol...dont worry bout them...it was figarutive. :D What I usually do is save the file at the end....or if i decide I have enough for the day and will carry on the next...then I save the file. And I read online Corel supposedly has a nasty habit of crashing...so I will work on my compulsive saving too!

Oh thank goodness! I'm so glad your ovaries and your work are all right!

That’s why analogue rocks😘

Lol....I have 4 cats and 2 of them love paper....so I'll say analogue rocks if you put it in a folder right away and hide it in a drawer. :D

wall i got this from one of my friend and i read this is really good just wann say you have got a follow keep posting great stuff

Really digging your style, it's like a polar opposite of my own as well :) which makes me like it far more. Nice work, keep up the awesome work, smashing that follow and upvote button :)

I also started saving my work to Google drive as a habit for just incase my hardrrive fries it's self. 100gb for £15 a year a good piece of mind. What app are you using by the way?

oh wow..only took me 12 days to see this. :) what app? Im using corel and draw on my tablet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62701.63
ETH 2445.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67