If MacGyver had nail polish and wiresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I love home DIY and crafts. But I hate home DIY instructions.

You can do this at home! It’s fast and easy and you only get to use household items which you surely have at home and in stock!

It sounds like a bad commercial and skimming through the list of things you soon find out you are missing like 9 out of 10 ingredients. Some of the stuff is so absurd they might as well list a rocket launcher somewhere in there.

I’m meeting some friends tomorrow and wanted to treat them a bit. So decided to craft some earrings and a necklace. No, this is not a home DIY and no, I don’t think most have the time, items or patience to try this.

11.jpg

Things you will need (+ the picture is missing necklace chain, earring hooks and Diamond glaze).

Wire needs to be firm enough (not to bendy). I’m using a 1 mm one. Cut two peace’s approx. the same length.

22.jpg

And then start playing with it. I’m using circular pliers for this part. If you are actually going to try this, forget about symmetry.

33.jpg

For a start do something simple. A few loops maybe. If I make these I always make more of them. So in total I made 8 wire frames.

44.jpg

I fix the wire frame in the clothespins, so they stay fixed and above the ground. Then I start filling the loops with nail polish. I first circle the rim of the loop and then fill in the rest, so the nail polish doesn’t run down. In my experience a bit older nail polish works best … since it’s thicker. If you don’t have it acrylic colors work too.

55.jpg

I leave the polish for a few hours to dry a bit. You could finish now, but from my experience the polish or paint gets really dry in time and starts to crumble. So what I do is apply a thin coat of Diamond glaze (preferably on both sides). It gets transparent when it’s dry and offers that extra protection + it binds the wire and polish. I leave it over night to dry.

66 (1).jpg

As I’ve said I would usually leave this for the night to really settle in before I would set them in earring hoops and necklace chain. But for yours dearly … here they are:

77.jpg
!

Sort:  

These are kick ass, i love it! You have the macgyver genius that is for true!

Awwww! Ty :)

you deserve it gurl! this is an awesome craft. Ill do you one better, hold please.

Really creative! Thanks for resteeming @satchmo now I have some new to follow!

Ty. :) ...and now i have someone to follow back too.

Ps: love the hair :D

💙 Thank you! Awesome sauce!!

OMG used to love MacGyver !!! Sunday nights!!!!

@stitchybitch meet @atopy. @atopy meet @stitchybitch .... now talk about crafts and stuff....

Ty! Followed her and will check her stuff up. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76