Crafting with woolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I made a pair of earrings last year. Now I got a request to make a necklace in the same style to go with them. So time for our weekly craft it seems.

IMG_20170917_152933.jpg

What you need is: scissors, some wool/yarn or any other string (important is that it is soft and soaks up fluids), wire, pliers, glue (I use a standard wood/school glue, I believe you name it Elmers glue), watercolors (optional), plastic sheet and a brush.

You start off with making a loop with the wire (look picture above) and cut some strings. You knot the string around the wire. You do not need to make any elaborate knots. If you know how to tie your shoe - that is it. You just make the first step of lacing and repeat with another string, and repeat and repeat until you cover most of the wire.

2.png

Cut off the excess wire and bend the tip of it upwards.

IMG_20170917_154455.jpg

Now you need some water and glue. I also used watercolors because I needed the thing to be blue. I used a plastic sheet for protection and soaked the strings in water/glue/watercolor mix with a help of a brush. I placed it in the desired position and let it dry a bit for a few hours. I also cut off some strings to get the shape of a feather.

IMG_20170917_155831.jpg

When the thing is a bit drier I add more glue to it (so at the end it is all white), with a brush, from both sides and let it rest for a day. The glue makes it really stiff and unmovable.

IMG_20170920_163203.jpg

You can do this with your kids. We actually make them in school too - for class decoration. We just use a thicker wire and wool, making it on a much larger scale. It is also quite useful as the first learning step in tying their shoes.

If you want to make it even more feather-like, don't cut off so much wire off and make the stem longer. You can also make fall leafs the same way.

Sort:  

Waaaw ! I was looking for DIY idea for chrismas :-D I will maybe get inspired !
I really don't know how I step to your profil, but I like it !!!! :-D

Cool.
Love when people get creative!!!

What a great technique! The feather looks so graceful. 💕

You can go so many ways with this. Imagine a whole "curtian" of them by the window. So pretty to look at.

very nice earrings.

looks like feather! nicee @atopy

This post recieved an upvote & comment from mahbubalam. If you would like to recieve upvotes comment from mahbubalam on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @mahbubalam

wooow!!!! this is so cool! next time i'll have to make a handmade gift, im going to try this out <3

what, this is funky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75