A gift for the movie lover - a bit of creativity on Christmas

in #art5 years ago

For years, several times a year I get a special order for a hand-painted T-shirt. Sometimes it's an original pattern, sometimes an inscription or a copy of a poster or interesting graphics. I don't do it professionally - it's a hobby and I only accept orders from people close to me.

It took me weeks to make some of that t-shirts (I wish I had done photos...), this time I received a simple drawing to do. Request came from a young boy (son of my friend), a rookie music and film lover.

Here's how I spent part of my free time on Christmas :)

It was quite easy. I needed a simple t-shirt...

...And gel pens for fabric - ideal for precise drawing.

The beginning is usually hard, especially when the first sketch doesn't look good enough. That's why it's better not to analyze too much and continue...

So I added a few colors, fortunately, I had some fabric paints that were from previous work.

And I had to draw hundreds of unruly lines.

Finally, I added bit of darkness, i.e. black paint ;)

The drawing had to be heat-set with an iron, and of course in a future it's better to wash the t-shirt by hand.

The sketch may seem untidy, but this is the intended effect. My young friend wanted drawing to be similar to the original movie poster (without some elements). Of course It's not perfectly the same - I don't like copy all details exactly. In such cases, first I copy the general outline, but then I rely on my own drawing style.

And this is the original poster... who watched this movie? It's old and iconic ;)


all photos by @astinmin

Sort:  

A very interesting gift for Christmas!

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thanks a lot 😊

Congratulations @astinmin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42