New Painted Book Sculptures by Mike StilkeysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

art-mike-stilkey-01.jpg
art-mike-stilkey-02.jpg
art-mike-stilkey-feature.jpg
art-mike-stilkey-10.jpg
art-mike-stilkey-05.jpg
art-mike-stilkey-08.jpg

Los Angeles-based artist Mike Stilkey (previously) uses salvaged books to create his unique painted sculptures.

“He works with a mix of ink, colored pencil, paint and lacquer to create each artwork that can vary from anthropomorphic animals playing instruments to portraits of men and women inspired by Weimar-era German expressionism. Elements of his playful and at times emotionally exaggerated style have been compared to Edward Gorey and Egon Schiele.”

Sort:  


Hi @asimpervez, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54