Anime - an addictive form of expression for this Caribbean artist.

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I was just a toddler when I first got introduced to anime. I would wake during the wee hours of the morning to catch them on old school Sci-fi, and it grew into a healthy addiction by the time I was a teen. I have drawn anime for what seems like most of my life and while over the years I gradually tapered off in pursuit of other art styles & mediums of expression, it remains to this day as my primary 'doodle' style, and it's easy to see why.

Anime is in my opinion, a beautiful balance of giving more than enough with seemingly very little. The style is often light and lacking in extensive detail (not all of course, but a vast majority) and compensates for this in its almost unnatural ability to capture emotions, movement and the literal FEEL of the story being told.
IMG_20160312_134256.jpg
Exhibit A - the visual representation of why I am such a beast at fighting games.

Anime taught me more about the real demons in this world than anything else. Not even my parents dared tread on these topics -
war & famine (Grave of the Fireflies - by Studio Ghibli)
screen-shot-2014-11-08-at-8-42-37-p-m.png

heartbreak & teen suicide (Colourful - based on the novel by Eto Mori)
d0293b4ad2f86a3879ed2a783fbe46171365549683_full.jpg

even betrayal & friendship (Akira - by Katsuhiro Otomo)
cd4d54dd343e1285a439c823d429364d.jpg

Yet anime tells these stories with ease and encourages us to do our best in the midst of turmoil. It has shown me how to be brave in the face of adversity and how to gather inner strength for a worthy cause.
IMG_20160312_133711.jpg

Truly, without anime I would not be even a fraction of the artist that I am today. I would probably still be an artist, but a real lame one by comparison.

IMG_20160312_133035.jpg

So the next time some uncultured swine tells you some nonsense like
"you still watching them cartoons?"
be sure to-
PUNCH THEM IN THE FACE.
HARD.
BECAUSE THAT KIND OF IGNORANCE SHOULD NOT EXIST IN THIS WORLD. 😐

IMG_20180217_123100.jpg

Thanks for indulging me with my anime fan-girling and until next time fellow Steemians,
Peace!

IMG_20160411_013632.jpg

All the illustrations (with the exception of the pics that were included for the movie references) are original and were done by moi

#anime #art #stateofthearts #artzone #weeklyanimechallenge #superwoman

Sort:  

Really love it! I wish I could draw just a little bit, but admittedly I have never seriously tried to learn it - which I maybe should. Anime and cartoons are great art forms, and you're right, I've never understood how some people could kind of look down on it - they obviously haven't got a clue ;)

I'd say, but that's why this post exists an anti-anime ignoramus remedy ;)
Cheers!

You have a very artistic hands!
I am glad to see a wonderful woman like you who's born with so much talent within.

Please continue making these beautiful masterpiece!
Have a great day and God bless! :)

Thank you very much, it was a arduous journey to finally realize that it was what I was meant to but social culturing would do that. I am merely grateful that I did not allow my childhood dream to die and I hope through my example others can be encouraged to follow their passions in kind.
Namaste :)

To you, @ascendedmonkey,

Fellow Steemian. I’m posting this in the comment section of your post, because I can’t contact you directly, like in messenger. SHelloo here is what I’m proposing: I have recently created a tag. I have made a couple of posts on it to enable it to exist. The purpose of this “Tag” is so that “We” can have a place to go to upvote each other’s posts collectively, without having to click on each one of our followers to see what they may, or may not have posted recently, and upvote it, and Resteem it. Since we have 5 tags to use when posting one of our posts, I thought it would be beneficial if we tried to band together, so to speak, and upvoted what I will loosely call “Our Group” Of Steemians. If you’re like me, you’ve noticed that getting upvotes on your posts, is like asking a bum for money. We just don’t get upvotes. It’s almost as if nobody even bothers to read what you have to say, or even cares to look, and if they do, they spend their upvotes on Whale posts to try and Suck up to them in hopes of having a Whale actually take notice. Guess what: The Whales don’t care, and they aren’t doing this for you.
So to basically outline my plan, it is simply this. Create a group of people who will tag their posts with the tag that I’ve created as the last tag on their post, that way it appears on that Tag line of posts. Every member involved has approximately 10 good strong upvotes per day to use. Use as many of those upvotes as you can on the Other Posters that are using this similar tag. It’s almost like having a group of us work together to help each other grow. It may take time, and it certainly will take effort, but I believe that in the long run it will pay off for its adopters. Our upvotes may not account for much monetarily speaking, but by banding together and utilizing our collective powers, we can help each other grow faster than simply hoping that our posts get some random upvotes, or paying those frigging automated bots that were created to make other people rich, while you just hopefully get your money back. I believe it will not only enable “us” to gain reputation points more quickly, but also grow our SteemPower more quickly, because we are actually getting some upvotes and comments.
I’ve met a few really decent people in here recently, and I’ve run it by them, and they really like the idea and approve of my implementation of it, so here it is.
The new Tag that I am creating will be #superman. It’s simple, and to the point. The few people that happen to stumble soon it by chance, will be the lucky ones.
But remember,this will only work if each of us does our part. We must Upvote our fellow Posters, we must be producing good posts, and engaging with our comments. That’s how this all works here. So if you don’t agree, or can’t bother to make it here on Steemit, then Please, Do Not Join. I’m posting this tonight, solely on #superman, and I’m sending it to you, to become part of the movement, part of the team, part of the Resistance!!!

Dude I am right there with you, I think its a great idea. Realistic and well thought out. I would however like to make one suggestion. In light of international women's day how about the female equivalent for members who identify as such, but then it would require yet another faction for including other genders as well. Possibly a more encompassing tag like #superpeople or any other mutually agreeable collective word for 'people' in general.

Nice work!!

Thank you very much! :D

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Thank you very much for rectifying that for me. I'm still pretty new here and still finding my way. But I am now following, and also wiser for it, so thank you again! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85