The first official artwork I did with my Dad!

in #art6 years ago

My father, Philippe Zanolino, is also an artist. A prolific one at that. I could write a book about him, and most probably will one day. For now, I'll keep it at, he is an artist "pur sang".

Any time he had, he would spend it in the Atelier, I've never seen another artist work as hard and tirelessly as him. Wherever we lived was always filled to the brim with art. My Dad was so good at what he did, that I never even considered going into the arts myself. However, throughout my childhood I was playing around in his atelier, having fun with the materials and watching him paint and sculpt for years and years.

After my first year of studying in Netherlands, I wanted to switch to graphic design. I made my portfolio and started to notice that I had the same touch my Dad has. I ended up choosing for fine arts instead. After about a year and a half abroad, I surprised my father by flying in for his birthday. I had made a mixed media spray paint and collage piece for one of my assignments at the academy. The story line reminded me so much of my Dad's story that I gifted it to him for his birthday. Now here's where it gets interesting.

The next day when I came to visit my dad again, he looks at me a little worried and says, "son, I'm sorry, but I worked on the gift you gave me" I enter the atelier and see he added a section of acrylic paint! I was flabbergasted by how that move made the work pop! So I was very pleased! I showed him some of the other works I brought along and we upgraded/completed 3 more together during that vacation. In the following visits back home from Europe, we would complete many more works together. When I eventually moved back, we had a solid 2 year collaboration culminating in a joint-show with over 200 pieces in our national museum.

Our collaboration works are signed Zz-team and I hope to be sharing some of these works alongside my own on Steemit.

Now that you know a little bit of the backstory, here's the first official Zz-team work we made in 2006 called "Creation"

1 Creation 100.70 cm   ZZ team 2006.JPG

Zanolino Zz team museum.jpg Part of our show

541992_10150818999372827_900189208_n-2.jpg
Philippe Zanolino & Giovani Zanolino a.k.a Zz-team

Thank you so much for taking the time to go through this post.

I love hearing from you and really do appreciate the support!

Amor I luz,

Sort:  

wow really nice work you guys have got there .. super awesome, i wish i could do artworks like this.. and great picture of you and your dad

Thank you, I appreciate it. You definitely can do artworks like these, just takes a lot of dedication!

This is special and most of all forget the art, the photo of you and your father is what counts this is what makes your art special and brings it to life. Family is the strongest bond. You are both creative and its amazing how talent can run through our genetic makeup.
This is a really great story. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks Sandd, I definitely got the right father for me! I'll try an share more about his story as well. A small tidbit for instance, my Father and Mother met in Prison :D

Interesting

nice post keep up the good work, it is amazing and attractive

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Now that... Was cool.. liked the theme in particular

Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time. Every artist was first an amateur
Keep it up

its awesome to see family work together

Thanks man, listening to your set with Ashe in another tab right now :D

did you get my email....that's awesome

This is such a sweet story! Love that you can bond with your father over art. The exhibition looks really amazing. Can't wait to see more of Papa Zanolino :)

Très belle histoire d'artistes. Ce que vous faites ensemble à l'air très beau. Merci de nous faire partager un peu de ta vie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45