AUMMMMMMMMM

in #art7 years ago

Golden-Aum-Dolph-small.jpg

AUMMMMMMMMM

It is one of my favourite sounds, symbols and philosophies...
This symbol is one of the most important icons in Hindu philosophy.
It was long ago understood by the Indians, that everything we witness is a vibration.
Thousands of years later this would be "discovered" by western science and it is now common knowledge that the very smallest particles known to man are in continuous vibration!

AUMMMMMMMMM

The deep sound that Buddhists and Hindus commonly make before, after and/or during meditation,
aims to Channel and connect with this vibration.
If we are all vibrations, then what are pain and joy really?
Are they not a transient phase?
Is the aim not to simply be aware of our existence?
Our existence which vibrates and permeates the entire universe and beyond?

AUMMMMMMMMM

It's a call to silence. Let it drive out the noise and remember what we really are.
A wish upon a star, to love and be loved in return.

I made this art piece using digital and handmade layers combined with photoshop.

I'm a mixed mutt with a French/Italian dad and Indian/South American mom.

Self portrait baby.jpg "Self portrait as baby"

I was raised on the mainly Christian Caribbean island of Curaçao and have always had an interest to know about many different cultures and customs.
In my early 20's I travelled amongst others to India and Nepal in search of my roots.
This is my limited interpretation, so feel free to add anything you think is important to mention about the meaning and importance of AUM.

Thank you very much for reading, viewing and supporting my art.

Traditionally the final AUM after prayer, meditation prayer or service is followed by three Shanti's

Shanti, Santhi or Shanthi (Sanskrit: शान्तिः, śāntiḥ, Sanskrit pronunciation: [ʃaːnt̪iɧ]; √ शम śam: ‘be calm’) means peace, rest, calmness, tranquility, or bliss.

I hope you enjoyed this post, and I wish you, you!

Shanti, Shanti, Shanti

Sort:  

Wonderful! My favourite moment in yoga class is when everyone says AUM. Peace, lightness and joy are felt in that moment of pure resonance and oneness.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Thanks for sharing, I have little personal experience with Yoga, but hear and read great things. What are the best things you have learned from it's practice? 🙏🏽

Stillness, patience and what it feels like to be truly present in that moment....working with glass is very similar, like a form of meditation.

Incredible work. Upvoted. I remember learning the sound Aummmmmm when I read the book Siddartha by Herman Hesse. This book and sound changed my life. This is when I began to understand that God is Light.

Thank you, thanks for sharing,
I also think God is light,
both science and spirtuality teach us that everything is a reflection of light.
That's why in India they also greet eachother with Namaskar/Namaste which means I salute the light in you.

We are not humans having a godly experience, but God having a human experience.

Exactly. This is very difficult for many people to grasp. I also believe that this is what Jesus was trying to teach people and he was misunderstood. My favourite books are the Isha Upanishad and the Gospel of Thomas ..... St Thomas who travelled to Kerala and wrote:

And he said, "Whoever finds the interpretation of these sayings will not experience death."
Jesus said, "Let him who seeks continue seeking until he finds. When he finds, he will become troubled. When he becomes troubled, he will be astonished, and he will rule over the All."

Jesus said, "If those who lead you say to you, 'See, the kingdom is in the sky,' then the birds of the sky will precede you. If they say to you, 'It is in the sea,' then the fish will precede you. Rather, the kingdom is inside of you, and it is outside of you. When you come to know yourselves, then you will become known, and you will realize that it is you who are the sons of the living father. But if you will not know yourselves, you dwell in poverty and it is you who are that poverty."

I remember reading book about the lost years of Jesus, when he was aged 12-30 and isn't mentioned in the New testament at all (probably censored)

In this time it is probable that he joined a caravan east. Here he acquired spiritual knowledge and came back aware that he was the son of God, in the moment of truth he even claimed me and the father are one.

I'd like to share this Piece I did on St. John with you, he is also my namesake (San Giovanni)

Yes .... this Non-Dualism or Monism also exists within Mystical Judaism. Everything Is God: The Radical Path of Nondual Judaism ... by Jay Michaelson http://amzn.to/2Dx09GV

Even more fun than listening to AUM is making the sound with others. Can't do it without a powerful feeling of being uplifted. Thank you for sharing the bliss. Shanti!

When all voices resonate as one, it does indeed reinvigorate one with bliss 🖖🏽

such a lovely post thanxxx for all the info on AUMMMMMMMMM .....new on steemit i am also a photoghapher plz support if you like my posts .... thank you in advance

This post has received a 2.22% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @artzanolino. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got a 1.20% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @artzanolino! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Beautiful art, love the kaleidoscope :)

Thank you, maybe sampling some good AUM chants would be good for one of your tracks?

Amazing pictures ! :o

Love it bro, thx!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.15% vote... I was summoned by @artzanolino! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78