DIGITAL ART TUTORIAL - How to paint lips -- 9 steps --

in #art7 years ago (edited)

DIGITAL ART TUTORIAL - How to paint lips in 9 easy steps

In this digital art tutorial I'll be showing you how to paint lips with digital painting software and (preferably) a drawing tablet. This is the end result we're aiming for in this tutorial

step9.jpg

STEP 1 - Draw the basic shape of the lips

step1.jpg

A common mistake is to focus on the outline of the lips, drawing a hard outer line. It is best to focus on the line/shadow between the lips, this is what defines the shape of the lips. Unless a lip pencil or a dark shade of lipstick is used, you don't see a clear line around the lips.

STEP 2 - Paint a base tone

step2.jpg

Paint a base tone for the lips, if the light is coming from above (which is usually the case), the upper lip will be darker than the lower lip.

STEP 3 - Basic shading

step3.jpg

Define the lips more by adding shadow. Be sure to use proper reference (photos or a mirror) to better understand the subject and lighting.

STEP 4 - Refine lines and add highlights

step4.jpg

Start adding highlights and refine the line between and on the lips.

STEP 5 - Add color variation

step5.jpg

Use a layer set to Overlay to add more color variation. I mostly add oranges and reds, you can adjust by lowering the opacity of the layer and make the effect more subtle.

STEP 6 - Add brighter highlights

step-6.jpg

By adding bright highlights you can make the lips appear more glossy and moist.

STEP 7 - Blending colors

step7.jpg

Using a soft brush set to a low opacity you can blend the colors for a smoother look, especially around the lips. Blend by picking up colors and glazing them over nearby colors, keep picking up and glazing till the colors are nicely blended.

STEP 8 - Add more definition

step8.jpg

Using a harder brush (I usually use a simple round brush with slightly ragged edges) start defining the details more.

STEP 9 - Final details

step9.jpg

Have fun adding the final details! I used an Overlay layer to adjust the colors a bit and give the lips a touch of pink/red. Continue detailing till you're satisfied.


If you have any questions about the techniques I use, be sure to let me know!

footer.jpg
-> Follow me on -> Steemit - YouTube - Instagram - Tumblr - Facebook <-
underline.jpg

Sort:  
  1. You are awesome
  2. Very good tutorial post
  3. Amazing art skill
  4. You are awesome

I'm following to see more of your art work

Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it. I'll be following you as well, I love gaming stuff :D

Oooo another Steemian who love gaming stuff. This day keeps getting better

Hell yeah! I just wish I had more time to play games :( The only thing I get to do these days is kiddy stuff with my children, like Super Mario.

It's beautiful!
Very clean style, thank you!

Queen of digital artworks, keep up the good work dear :)

Thanks so much, I'll do my best :)

Nice one. Perhaps you can start a series of tutorials about different parts of the face/body.

Thanks, that's the plan! More tutorials to come :)

Wow, your painting is very good

Thank you, glad you like it

Damn! How have I not been keeping up with these 😮... great work galfriend 👏

Thanks so much! Glad to hear you like it :)

Thanks! Glad you like it :D

Thank you so much @abcdoctor

Another great job! Excellent! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62