DIGITAL ART TUTORIAL - How to paint cherries

in #art7 years ago

Digital art tutorial - How to paint cherries step by step

I LOVE fruit! Strawberries, raspberries, mangoes, bananas and... cherries! Cherries must be the worst, once I eat one of them, I just can't stop eating till I'm feeling sick. So a better option is to just paint a pair of cherries I guess! In this digital art tutorial I'll be showing you how to paint cherries with digital painting software and (preferably) a drawing tablet.

cherriesHowTo.jpg

STEP 1 - Make a sketch

The first step is to make a sketch! You can keep it nice and loose. You can use a reference photo or real cherries, don't eat them yet though! (or make a picture of them before you eat them)

cherriesstep1.jpg

STEP 2 - Base color

Once you've made the sketch, add a new layer beneath the sketch and start painting the base color. I prefer using a dark tone for this, working from dark to light. The cherries will have some purples, browns and reds in them.

cherriesstep2.jpg

STEP 3 - Defining the shape

Once you got a nice base tone for your cherries, you can start defining the shape more. Add darker shadow tones and work on the light areas. You can turn down the opacity of the sketch layer during this phase and refine the edges of the cherries more.

cherriesstep3.jpg

STEP 4 - Detailing and drop shadow

To give the cherries a more realistic feel, they need a drop shadow. Add a new layer beneath the layers you've already got and start painting a shadow, you can built this up slowly. Work on the details of the cherries till you're satisfied. The cherries are bit shiny, so they need nice crisp highlights. I feel like eating them now!

cherriesstep4.jpg

Get in control of your cherry addiction and do some therapeutic cherry painting! Be sure to show me your final result and tag me in your post.
Here's a little recap of the steps taken...

Cherries.jpg

Or just watch the video!

Have fun practicing and be sure to share your work once you're done!


Follow my account for digital art tutorials every week!

Have fun painting everyone!


footer.jpg
-> Follow me on -> Steemit - YouTube - Instagram - Tumblr - Facebook <-
underline.jpg

Sort:  

THE CHERRIES LOOKED SO REAL! I could've easily mistaken them as real! This is so amazing, @artwithflo!

Haha, thanks so much! Love the picture 😃

Wow. I love this. I've always wanted to learn how to do this kind of realistic drawing :D

wow

what talent

I like the Minimalist Step one Pic a Lot

Man !!! You are Talented :)

Congrats !!!!!

They look very fresh! Realistic drawings is something i really would love to learn and i will work on it. Thanks for sharing✌

Very photo realistic!

@artwithflo what a wonderful tutorial. It even tempted me to sketch. Once I did, I remembered why I don't try to draw, but this is the first tutorial that made me want to try in a very long time. Thanks.

That is really lovely to hear! Just keep trying, I'm sure you'll improve

Holy shit! These are fantastic @artwithflo :)
One of your best works <3

Thank you so much!

This is super awesome! I totally love it! I have not watched your video but I love your presentation outcome! They look really real!
upvoted

Your tutorials are always beautifully done!

Thanks so much 😃

Very detailed tutorial my friend, keep up the good work :)

Thanks so much, glad to hear you like it!

You are welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54