ART CHALLENGE - Left hand VS. Right hand

in #art7 years ago (edited)

THE ULTIMATE ART BATTLE - My left hand versus my right hand!

I've always wondered if my left hand could take over if my right hand got injured. It was about time to put this to the test!

I decided to go for an eye. It's a complicated subject, but one I've got quite a lot of experience with.
I painted the same eye twice, so it would be easy to compare my left and right hand. Both hands got 30 minutes time to paint this eye.

Which hand do you think won?

LeftVSRight.jpg

The minute I started painting with my left hand, I realized this was way harder than I had expected. I couldn't even draw a straight line! Why wouldn't my hand listen to my brain? My hands were like two children and the left one was definately the defiant one, "You wanna go left? No way! We're going up!"

And as with children, you just need to outsmart them, finding tricks to get them to do what you want. I knew I couldn't get my left hand to behave like the right one (perhaps with a lot of training), so I had to work with what I got. Since I couldn't draw long straight lines, I decided to try and get a decent result by using shorter lines and dabs.

It took a whole lot of energy to control my left hand, but I kinda like the result. It had me feeling that maybe my right hand could learn something from my left hand.

Progress of the left hand painting

LeftVSRightLeft.jpg

When my left hand was done and taking a rest, it was time for my right hand to pick up the Wacom pen. With my right hand it feels like I don't even have to think while painting. BUT my right hand might also be too much of a perfectionist. Maybe the right hand painting is too neat and tidy.

I hope I can convince my right hand to learn from my left hand, but they mostly live seperate lives. Perhaps my brain can mediate ;)

Progress of the right hand painting

LeftVSRightRight.jpg

If you're interested you can watch a video of the painting process


Which eye is your favorite? Who do you think won? My left hand or my right hand?


footer.jpg
-> Follow me on -> Steemit - YouTube - Instagram - Tumblr - Facebook <-
underline.jpg

Sort:  

Great drawings. You must be ambidextrous 🙏🏽

Thanks! I sure don't feel ambidextrous, drawing with left was so tiring!

What a cool idea to test!

A year ago I swapped my mouse hand from right to left (shoulder pain - although I now I've just made both of them bad) and that was hard enough. You are clearly very talented with both hands! 💙 If I tried this it would look like a sad kindergarten painting! Followed.

Thanks!
RSI surely sucks :( I have issues sometimes too, a pen tablet helps though.

Cool challenge! But your left hand is still better than my right hand lol. Ze zijn alle twee prachtig btw.

Amazing drawing skills! Your non-natural hand is better than my natural.

Awww thanks!

This is a fantastic post. Great stuff. Enjoy your day

Thanks! Glad you like it :) Hope you have a wonderful day as well!

That is a wonderful test. Helps give you a difference you can use if you'd like a different look in some areas. I might have to try that.

Yeah it was a great challenge! It's always nice to push yourself :)

Beautiful work my friend, for me the right hand did the magic :)

Thanks so much!

Neat idea! I always call my left hand stupid, but my right hand is the same as yours, a perfectionist. I've been trying to loosen up over the years. I might have to try :)

It's pretty hard huh, to try and loosen up. I keep feeling my work is too polished.

It is so hard! I've found painting outside with the time restraint of light really helps me work quickly and more loose. Baby steps :)

Yeah I can imagine! Someday I'll find the time and peace to work plein-air as well :)

You did quite well on that left eye. When I severed the tendons in my right hand after surgery I had no use of it for 3 months. I practiced writing throughout the day with my left hand. I became pretty good.

Oh wow, that must've been rough. I guess it is possible to get pretty decent with a non dominant hand, but maybe it'll never get as good as the dominant hand.

Left hand , 30 mints and 15 mints lol Too all the questions above ::)) in ordered :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44